Totally Krossed Out

   So. Good news. I found all my old cassette tapes buried in the depths of my closet–you know, the ones that you bought back in the 6th, 7th, 8th, and in my case, 9th and 10th grades? Mia and I have been jammin’ out to the musical stylings of Kris Kros, Salt ‘n’ Pepa, TLC, Hi-5, After 7, The Spin Doctors, and…(drum roll please)…the various artists on the soundtrack to "Adams Family Values".
   Hoo boy.
   Turns out, Mia loves old school rap and hip-hop. And I never realized this, but she showed me that you can totally ska dance to all the music mentioned above. The girl knows how to groove–wonder where she got that from?
   Ha! Not me. Don’t get me wrong–I’m a good dancer. It looks so bad, but it feels so good, right? After watching me shake my rump to "Jimmy Olsen’s Blues" and "Jump Jump", a person would more than agree with that statement.
   Aside from the dancing, I’ve taken the liberty of dusting, vacuuming, and just generally straightening my home in preparation for our weekend visitors–although by the time they arrive tomorrow night, that endeavor will have been shot to hell and the house will look like crap again.
   Cheyenne warned me today that she’d enjoy a good size sleepover party for her birthday towards the end of the month. OH, HAPPY DAY. I think as far as sleepovers go, 10 year old girls are the worst…and I say this only because I remember my own 10th birthday sleep-over, as well as both of my sisters’ parties. I set the limit to 4 girls, knowing full good and well I probably can’t even handle that, and she seemed satisfied.
   Mia ought to have a blast at any rate–these girls treat her like a fairy princess. You’d think they’d never seen a baby before. It’s actually quite adorable to see them all rush over and try to get a smile, or a hug, or a laugh from her. Oh, to be a cute one-year old and have the world at your fingertips.
   I’d better get busy making sure the dogs aren’t trashing the place. I’m probably too late.
   Tomorrow I will try and put up Part 2–or is it Part 3?–of the story of Caleb and me, and that’ll be IT for the weekend–I will have actual grown-ups to talk to and look at, so I’ll be otherwise occupied! Ya’ll have a great Friday!
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

6 responses to “Totally Krossed Out

  • Sheryl-Ann

    Now I will definitely take my laptop on vacation to read the second part of the story……..can’t wait!
     
    Happy Mother’s Day to you!  Enjoy the day with your family.

  • Korku

    Cool Space !!!!
    Check Out Mine!!!!

  • Darcy

    Have a blast with your adult friends :) You deserve a little of that… and tell Caleb to keep the dogs away from you and it’ll feel like paradise :)
    Hapy Mother’s Day!
    D

  • Laura

    So, I have to know how you taught your 20 mo old girl how to ska dance… lmao. I am not even sure if I know what that is! My friend’s little one loves music, and he dances better than most people 4 times his age! He can’t really talk, but he pretends to sing to the music. It is so funny to watch. Hope you have a great weekend in the company of people your own age! ha ha

  • Alicia

    Can’t wait to hear more of the Cleb story!!  Good luck keeping the house clean until the guests arrive!!
     
    HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!!!!
     
    HUGS!!  :)

  • Sue

    When trips are bent out of shape we put on the music and Jack yells "bootay dance!"  They all stop crying or fighting.  They clap their hands and we all start shakin’ it!  Works like a charm.  But you are 25, same age as Drama Queen, and I do remember a little group called NKOTB?  I thought every girl your age had some New Kids in their collection!  I still have the video ; )
     
    Sue

You must be logged in to post a comment.

