Guess I’d better write something…

   It’s been gorgeous outside. I’ve been busy. I’ve been sleepy. I’ve been riding my bike.
   For whatever reason, I just haven’t been blogging–which in itself is not really a big deal, but my family seems to think that writing has been somewhat of an outlet for me and the fact that I’m not doing it regularly has them a tiny bit concerned.
   So I’m freakin’ writing, if only to keep my mom updated. (Love you, Mom.)
   As I mentioned before, I love my new bike, and I love it even more now that my husband has a sweet green one. Seriously, he’s adorable on that thing. Bless his heart, he couldn’t keep up with me and Cheyenne on our first ride yesterday–the hills about killed him and he came home and passed out on the couch. But it was a lot of fun and I’m hoping it’s something we can all do more often.
   Mia has grown to love the rides as much as I do–she hugs me around my waist, kisses me on my back, and sings songs to me the whole way–and I’ve realized how good she is at singing, how many songs she actually knows, how well she can carry a tune. Everytime we zoom down a hill she throws her arms up and shouts "WEEEEEEEEE!" all the way down. She thinks her little pink helmet is the coolest thing a kid could own, and whenever I strap it on, she struts around with her chin up and a huge grin on her face…
   Cheyenne rides in front of me. She has the makings of a professional cyclist–her legs are getting stronger and stronger, she seems so lean and mean on that bike of hers–she rides with such confidence…on her bike, all her awkwardness melts away, her clumsiness, her noodle arms and legs…gone. I’m seeing muscles in her body that I never would’ve guessed she had. And I can tell she really loves to ride.
   I ride because it makes me feel better. When I miss a day, my mood suffers–funny how that’s working out. I guess it’s good–what better motivation is there to exercise than the threat of an emotional breakdown? Yesterday I suffered a mini-episode in the privacy of my closet. For some reason I felt this overwhelming sense of anger and sadness both, and could do nothing for 30 minutes but cry and gag…it passed as quickly as it came on, and Mia and I had some chocolate cake out on the back porch and all was right with the world again.
   Oh, and the cake came from
MY HUSBAND’S 29TH BIRTHDAY
which ever so awesomely took place yesterday, July 10th. We got him a grill cover and 3 manly movies (Zardoz not included), and I think he was happy. He’s not one to get too terribly excited over birthdays, not the way I do anyway–and he had an awful lot of work to catch up on after his week of hurt-back.
   My biggest birthday wish for him, since I’m not sure he knew to make one for himself, is that his 29th year is filled with happiness and success, that he be satisfied by who he is and where he is completely and utterly by the time he hits the big 3-0. You know, I think he’s there already–he is a very contented person. I admire the way he takes each day and makes the best out of it, yet is not afraid to have the occasional dramatic freak-out over something big…but he deals with it with such strength and manliness. And he looks really, really good on a bicycle.
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

12 responses to “Guess I’d better write something…

  • miranda

    I’m glad your back! I’m also glad Zardoz wasn’t one of the movies, you’d have to be a masochist to even THINK about getting him that one!! I must say, breaking down in the closet isn’t limited to you. I don’t know what’s wrong with me, but I have these sudden mood swings all the time now. I feel like I have no control over it, almost like I’m watching myself, and I hate myself during it all because I want to be able to snap out of it but I can’t stop. It’s odd, I know. I don’t know why I’m telling you this…
    I really enjoy reading about your family, your absolute pride and love for them really shines through. They’re lucky to have you as a mother and wife, I hope they let you know that. Everyone needs to hear that they are appreciated every now and again.

    Take care.

  • Laura

    awe, that sounds so cute (Mia on the rides w/ you). So it is like you have your own little kiddie iPod with you keeping you entertained?! ha ha. Glad your hub had a great birthday. Too bad he doesn’tget excited like you do… you two could have a month-long celebration.
    riding your bike seems like it is great therapy for you. I guess it is a more healthy choice than other hobbies, and you get to connect with your family. Sounds like a great choice for you!

  • Andrea

    I am glad you are doing well.  It was my boy D’s B-day too.  He is 16 now **** it.  My hubby will be 39 in September.  Keep up with the riding and have a good time.  Cycling will improve C’s coordnation and will get all the limbs in shape.  I know D is 6’6′  and it was so funny to watch him ( at least looking back ) grow into them limbs.

  • Dennis and Liz

    Hey Toni! I went to Ft. Benning this weekend to see my hubby. I was thinking of you. Hope things are swell. Keep in touch!

  • Alicia

    Hi Toni!
    Glad to see you’re still with us!  You make me want to get a bike and take Laine riding!!
     
    HUGS!!  :)

  • Michael

    Hey Trouble…missed seeing you around!:)  Too bad Caleb doesn’t want to celebrate like you do but hey some states are still recovering from your festivities!;)
    Hope all is well in your world…take care
    Michael

  • Sheryl-Ann

    Hey, glad you are enjoying your rides.  There is nothing like exercising and actually enjoying it (smile)!
     
    Belated happy birthday to Caleb!  Sounds like you and Mia ate more of his cake than he did.
     
    Take care and enjoy the week.

  • Tiffany

    It’s good to see you are blogging even if you don’t really feel like it.  Tell Caleb Happy Belated…
    It is so great that you guys are experiencing the bike riding as a family.  I am supposedly getting a bike for my birthday (July 21)  The girls are both getting one for theirs and sooo I want one too. 
    Don’t worry about having an episode…at least you can hide in the closet.  Lately I am just all over everybody.  Out loud and obnoxiously.  It’s ok to do that everyone keeps telling me.
    Just remember you are a wodnerful mommy and a loving wife, and just try to make the best out of each day.

  • barnyardmama

    You were odered to write?  hee hee.  My mom doesn’t read my blog–she thinks the whole thing is pretty weird and is not at all interested.
     
    Happy B-day, Caleb!
     
    KM

  • Sue

    Glad to hear from ya!  Thought maybe you rode off into the land of Oz and may show up on my door step or something bizarre.  The bike thing sounds great for you!  Keep it up while you can down there before it gets to freakin hot. 
    Hope the med is working for you.  Sounds like it is.  I thought it was working for me a year ago, but when my dad died, I couldn’t cry.  I felt nothing.  I realized I couldn’t feel sad, happy, just a big fat zero in the feeling department.  Blondie begged me to stop.  She preferred my bizarre moods to the nothingness.  It does help a lot of people.  Just didn’t work well for me.  So…  I went back to my weird emotional roller coaster.  LOL. 
    It’s summertime!  Enjoy it and write when you have time.
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY CALEB!
    : ) Sue
     

  • Nooner™

    Happy Birthday Caleb!
    Hey Toni .. I think it’s great you are blogging less .. and riding more!! You have fallen in love with an activity that is exhilierating .. not to mention something that it is something that is helping you spend much more quality time with Mia. How cute is that!
    ~Nooner~

  • Tiffany

    Yeah I have to admit..I actually did a good job in finding a man willing to grow on up and take care of and be a family.  He is the best.  Not many guys that are our age do that kind of thing.  I have seen some doozies.  =)
    Tiffany

You must be logged in to post a comment.

