What the…?

My Christmas list from the 5th grade:
 
  • Dance Club Barbie
  • Dance Club Ken
  • Dance Club Accessories
  • Barbie furniture
  • Babysitters Club books
  • Babysitters Club board game
  • Mall Madness
  • Clue
  • Monopoly
  • Roller Skates
  • Lace-Trimmed leggings (white and black)

Cheyenne’s Christmas list this year in the 5th grade:

  • Clothes
  • Clothes
  • More Clothes
  • Lipgloss
  • IPod
  • Cellphone
  • Digital Camera
  • Lace-trimmed leggings (white and black)

Ah, the joys of being 10. I mean, I was still playing with friggin’ Barbie dolls at Cheyenne’s age. I distinctly remember making elaborate "houses" for Barbie and her crew out of hardback Sesame street storybooks…huge houses that covered the entire floor of my bedroom. My Barbies were not called "Barbie" nor were they called Midge, Teresa, Skipper, or Christine. I blessed them with names like (no kidding) Charlotte, Miranda, Samantha, and my alltime favorite name in the world, Maryanne. (I’m not kidding about that one either.) I spent hours brushing Maryanne’s long, luxurious bleach-blond hair, picking out the most fashionable non-whor-ish outfits, and getting her ready to go out on a date with Cody and the other girls. These dates usually ended up with Maryanne and Cody in the sack, while Charlotte, Miranda, and Samantha lived it up cruising around in Cody’s sweet Corvette, cooking gourmet meals in Maryanne’s pink designer kitchen.

My kid is not the slightest bit interested in these games. No. Instead, she writes not to Santa Clause this year, but directly to me and Caleb, asking specifically for anything from the Limited Too–gift cards are actually preferred this Christmas, as she does not trust me with the outfit picking process anymore.

Geez.

Mia, on the other hand, is in the truly fun stage of life where she can’t spoil my Christmas dreams by asking for things I have no desire to play with. I am fully determined to design and build a fairy-doll-Swiss-Family-Robinson-Robin-Hood-Prince-of-Thieves-Ewok-village-treehouse/mousehouse out of many wooden parts and pieces. I have an idea in my head; nothing else will do. Picture this: Several open wooden "rooms", if you will, sculpted out of cheap unfinished birdhouses fresh from clearance at Michaels, carved and stained and attatched to actual branches that are firmly secured to a base made out of slice of tree. I, myself, can see it clearly; others have no idea where I’m going with this.

Caleb, the love of my life, the man who understands me (scary) more than anyone in the world, DID ACTUALLY GET IT. Granted, it did take weeks of explaining over and over for him to grasp the concept, but yesterday, something clicked and he came home from a trip to town with materials I did not ask him to get but nevertheless needed, and he hypothetically put it all together on the kitchen table. Now we see eye-to-eye and are working towards this common goal of Mia’s whateveryoucallit dollhouse. It’s gonna be pretty sweet. I will take pictures with my disposable camera and scan them into the computer for all to see…

Have a happy weekend you guys!

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

4 responses to “What the…?

  • Sheryl-Ann

    Oh yeah, things have surely changed.  This new generation is all high tech and they don’t care too much about dolls.  I don’t think I was into dolls either at 10 but that could be because my brothers always treated them badly.  They were sooooo mean to my dolls (hahahaha)!  I think they just wanted a tomboy as a sister…….that was more fun anyway.  I look forward to seeing pics of Mia’s dollhouse.  Take care and have a lovely weekend.

  • Leah

    Thanks for the compliment! I know all about the best diets. They start with a good breakup-that’s key. You know, the kind that tears your heart out and rips you to shreds. Throw in an ulcer and severe digestive pain and voila! 25 lbs just like that! I agree about the in one ear and out the next. Some things just aren’t worth hearing. :)
    I would’ve been blissfully happy with a gift like that (the treehouse thingy) when I was 13! :) Ok, late bloomer.

  • barnyardmama

    The think that would bother me about the whole Cheyenne thing would be that she didn’t trust my fashion sense–surely she recognizes your fashion greatness?  Surely?  I played with dolls when I was ten–I also LOVED clothes.  So I was somewhere between you and Cheyenne.
     
    OMG I cannot, cannot believe that you have mention the ewok treehouse–that was, without a doubt, the best thing EVER!!!  Mia is SUCH a lucky girl.
     
    KM
     
     

  • Hilary

    I love your fall background.  It makes me feel all warm and snuggly inside!  I remember at 10 being more like you, barbies, books, things like that.  I would have never asked for a camera or iPod (just because I wasn’t interested in those things yet!).  Times are changing, even from my generation (I’m only 22) to my brother’s age (he’s 18) to Cheyenne.  I wish you luck on Christmas shopping (I haven’t even started).  The treehouse thing rocks.  The wonderful thing about little ones is they get as excited over dollar store stickers as something expensive!  It makes your job easier! :)

You must be logged in to post a comment.

