FRESH

January, 2007.
Just when I got used to writing 2003 on all my checks.
 
Hope everyone had a great Christmas, and New Years…I guess we’re well on our way to Epiphany now, so Happy That, too. Cheyenne is back, safe and sound, and seemingly happy and with a brand new wardrobe. Mia has been in present overload for the past 2 weeks and has yet to play with more than half of the toys she got for Christmas. The mousehouse went over well; it’s not entirely done (the mushrooms aren’t glued down and the doors haven’t been hinged on), but she’s loving it. Mostly she takes the family of mice and relocates them to her Fisher Price Barn, while Joe Montana (a leftover ornament) takes control of their mansion.
 
Life is good.
 
We celebrated New Year’s Eve by watching bad TV and downing Bud Light with my father-in-law. Man, what was up with the New Year’s Eve programs? Every channel: obnoxious no-names laughing it up with other obnoxious no-names and introducing horrendous live "musical" acts–you know, off-key singers bumping and grinding into thin air over and over and over. After flipping between that and an intriguing program on the Science channel about  exploited ape-men in Pakistan, we decided to just turn the TV off.
 
I’m quite sure that’s where my headache came from the next day.
 
My quest to be healthier this year is going well; I haven’t had a single Coke since the beginning of the New Year, and, amazingly, I’ve managed to keep coffee down to 2 cups each morning. Pretty good, huh? I won’t mention the blueberry pie and ice cream we’ve been chowing down on the last couple days. It’s celebretory, therefore it DOES NOT COUNT.
 
Everybody got that?
 
Mia’s resolution to NEVER EVER GO TO SLEEP has been put into action with a fierceness. The child just does not quit. Naps? Who needs ’em? Bedtime what? Surely you jest, Mom. My own bed? I thought that was a trampoline.
 
So other than being a little tired (what else is new?) 2007 in the house of Toni is off to a great start.
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

6 responses to “FRESH

  • miranda

    Here’s to a FABULOUS 2007 for you and yours!!

  • Hilary

    I’m glad to hear that Mia loved the house.  What an AMAZING gift.  I used to be so much more creative, but school has effectively squashed that.  Anyways, did you watch the Fiesta Bowl?  You’re an Oklahoma girl right??  Happy to hear you’re staying healthy (I’m trying to lose weight as a resolution as well) and good luck with the whole "no sleeping child" thing! :)

  • Sheryl-Ann

    Happy New Year, Toni!  I am happy that Mia loved the house, and I am sure she will get around to the rest of the toys before Santa comes around again.  Take care and happy Thursday!

  • ♥ Aimee

    lol…gotta love when kids won’t sleep…
    :o) smiles are contagious…and free…as well as a great start to the new year…pass one to people that you love and those you don’t…and soon everyone will be smiling… :o)

  • g

    Two days without a coke!!  I don’t think I can manage that, although I am down to about one 44oz. sonic coke a day…that is compared to the 44oz, plus a couple of refills throughout the day!!  So I guess I have gone down on my coca-cola addiction.  It is so addicting.  I love cola.  Good luck to you on your quest of qutting.  Happy New Year.

  • InkaDinka

    Toni- Was just catching up on your blog….you are just so funny! I’m always getting a laugh at your expense!! You should write a book….SERIOUSLY!
     
    Well…hope you all are doing well….
     
    My fitness/healthy eating plan is going good with the exception of a slip yesterday…..but 6 out of 7 days is pretty damn good. Yesterday morning I went for a run and subsequently had a headache and felt nauseous for the rest of the day….let’s just say – it has been a challenge getting back into an exercise routine….but I’m going to keep on trucking!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

