A little of this, A little of that

   The lowdown on Sam:
    Back in the hospital. Stayed for 2 days initially, sent home with meds that make her tired and weak. Spent all day yesterday in the ER in Gulf Breeze, then was transferred back to be re-admitted to the same crappy hospital that sent her home…They still have no clue what is wrong with her. On her first run-in, they assumed she was too young to be having the problem she seemed to be having, so they did not do the customary tests and such to diagnose her correctly…I believe that’s the way it goes; I’m getting a lot of my information second and third hand. I hate this; I talked to her briefly when she got home the first night. She didn’t sound like herself at all; breathless, maybe, and really, really worn out. No offense to her…but I hated hearing her like that and gladly passed the phone off to Caleb before I started to tear up again. I just wish they could figure out what the heck is going on, deal with it, and make that girl better. I hate that I’m not down there.
 
   Some good news:
   My best friend Nikki is planning a trip back home to Arkansas, so I am planning a trip to Arkansas to go see her, provided I find someone to watch the dogs for a couple days. Caleb’s a little hesitant, I think, to let me make the drive by myself…probably because the last time I went on a trip alone I had a little car fiasco. And that’s all I’ll say about that.
 
   I talked to another good friend of mine for the first time in years…well, less than that, but it’s been a while. They just adopted a little boy from China and are doing wonderful it seems. I’m so happy for them and it was great to get back in touch with her. This girl kept me in line during my wild period…as best she could…another "big sister" that I’ve kind of always looked up to.
 
   I got a sweet bag the other day on serious clearance at Dillard’s…originally $180.00, and I plopped down significanly less after the mark-off and my mother’s employee discount. I spotted this big mustard-colored thing about a year ago and thought, "I’ll own that one day, because I just know no one else is gonna like it and I’ll get it for the change in my ashtray." And sure enough. Which reminds me…
 
   I’m reading this book–don’t laugh–called "The Secret", by Rhonda Byrne. It basically says what Caleb’s been telling me all along; positive thinking goes a long way, and using the power of positive thought to get what you want out of life…it goes a little farther than that, but that’s the general idea. Here’s a particular little excerpt that spoke to me:
 
"Think of a car driving through the night. The headlights only go a hundred to two hundred feet foward, and you can make it all the way from California to New York driving through the dark, because all you have to see is the next two hundred feet. And that’s how life tends to unfold before us. If we just trust that the next two hundred feet will unfold after that, and the next two hundred fee will unfold after that, your life will keep unfolding. And it will eventually get you to the destination of whatever it is you truly want, because you want it." — Jack Canfield
 
   The book goes on to say that the law of attraction is what naturally brings us the things we are thinking of. For example, if you are afraid of being unsuccessful, and you worry about it constantly, then one day you will be unsuccessful. On the other hand, if you picture yourself succeeding and think only of reaching your goals, then you will eventually do just that. So many people stop trying to achieve what they want, simply because they don’t see a possible way to get it, the book says. And I wondered how many times I’ve done that.
 
   So, step one toward my goal of owning my own business one day: think positive thoughts. There. 1 New Year’s resolution and 1 long-term goal knocked out just like that.
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

One response to “A little of this, A little of that

  • barnyardmama

    This is bizarre–my mother-in-law gave me a DVD called The Secret for Christmas.  I’m pretty sure it’s the same topic.  i haven’t watched it, but I believe in the whole attraction/positive thinking thing, so I’m not in a big rush.
     
    Coming to Arkansas?  Wherabouts?
     
    KM

You must be logged in to post a comment.

