Bright-Eyed and Bushy-Tailed

   It’s not late; it’s early. Here I am at…4:21 in the morning, typing away on the computer because I just can’t sleep. I’ve been tossing and turning for the last 5 hours listening to the wind and thinking about everything in the world there is to think about. Damn my bipolar alter-ego!
 
   The wind in Oklahoma is something to behold, a force to be reckoned with. As a Floridian, the sheer speed and strength and sound of the wind here would normally be associated with the ominous hours right before a major hurricane…or maybe in the early stages of the hurricane itself. Here, this kind of wind is as comforting as a gentle rain.
   I can’t bring myself to enjoy a good thunderstorm, or even a blustery day. Call me a ‘fraidy cat. I know what I am.
   It’s only the beginning of January; we’re months away from the official start of tornado season, the time last year when my sleepless nights began. I’ve been told it was a tame season–not typical by far.
   Great.
   I can breathe a small sigh of relief in knowing that our friendly neighbors have extended an invitation to use their shelter whenever the mood strikes us to need one; I told them I’d be there whenever a lone cloud appeared in the sky. That’s how scared I am.
 
   Mia is also up. I’m a horrible mother; I let her sleep with me months ago and she’s wanted to keep the tradition alive. I can count on one hand the nights she’s spent in the cute little bed Caleb made for her back in September. When Mom’s out of bed, Mia senses it, even though I spend 6 minutes moving in silent slow motion so as not to wake her. I think she has mutant powers.
   No more than 5 seconds passed after I left the room before the kid called to me and asked for her morning cup of chocolate milk. To the couch, please. No, I’d really like my pink blankie today.
   I know it’s not widely accepted to drink beer before 5:00 p.m.–is it wrong to drink coffee before 5:00 a.m.? If I make a pot now, will I drink more than usual?
   Why didn’t I think of answers to these questions while I was lying in bed?
 
   Tomorrow we’re scheduled for a little snow and ice. Which is actually fine with me this time around, since I’ll probably be SO TIRED FROM BEING UP ALL DAY TODAY. And only now, just a short while before I have to wake Cheyenne up for school, am I starting to feel the tiniest bit sleepy.
 
   Everyone have a great day.
  
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

4 responses to “Bright-Eyed and Bushy-Tailed

  • Eden

    I remember my daughter went through a stage where she would get up EVERY morning around 4:00am and crawl in bed with me.  I think it was between the ages of 3 and 6.  I am not sure why she woke like that everyday, but she refused to go back to bed by herself.  I finally got to where I would put her back in her bed and then snuggle with her a while to get her past it.

  • Nooner™

    Toni, you briber, you! (I reread yesterday’s blog again today .. lol .. it was so good).
    I wake early some days .. like at Oh-Dark-Hundred, as we said in the military many-a-time. Yet, I have this thing that on days I’m awake very early that I won’t brew coffee until at least 6 a.m. The beer before 5 p..m is one I am prone to break, however .. lol.
    ~Nooner~

  • K

    Sorry I haven’t been coming around very often… I just wanted to pop in and see quickly how things are going – seems like I have a few things to catch up!  But congrats on getting Mia to use her potty!  The Mouse House looks FANTASTIC btw… loved the pictures – you are VERY talented!  Impressive!
     
    Will get all caught up shortly… just been extremely busy these days!
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  • t i m

    I’m not a caffeine drinker, but I know beer can certainly be drunk at any time of the day. :)
     
    As a baby I also had mutant powers, I could conviniently cry whenever I wanted something, it’s a great gift which I still posses today, alhough I have to put onions near eyes to turn on the waterworks.
     
    Ok I don’t really do that, but if you drink too early in the day, talking nonsense like I’m doing is a typical sympton, be warned. :)
     
    Take care. 😉 

You must be logged in to post a comment.

