Calling

Motherhood.
It’s not all it’s cracked up to be–for some.
 
But today, in a "profession" where traditionally you don’t see much in the way of encouragement or recognition–no pats on the back and certainly no paycheck–today, motherhood put a smile on my face.
 
I don’t know if it was the gorgeous weather or the fact that I had let her sip actual Coke at lunch, but Mia was in a very loving mood. And everything I did was right.
 
"Mom–you’re cleaning my shoes! What a good girl you are!"
"I love the way you fold my clothes, Mom! Great Job!"
"This sandwich is delicious! You made a perfect lunch for a little girl like me! Thanks, Mom!"
 
She said that stuff to me, word for word. I shit you not.
 
These moments are happy moments. We have a lot of these around my house. Being a stay-at-home mom has really allowed me to mellow out and enjoy my daughters. Yet for the longest time, I struggled against it. It’s not like I was missing out on some big career–how much could a starving artist possibly make? And it’s not like I hadn’t done it before, when Cheyenne was little. But somewhere along the line, (probably when I was in the third grade and had big dreams of being a glamourous career woman in a city somewhere) the idea got into my head that I could never be completely happy while I was "stuck" at home with kids. That I needed to be out and about, making money and meeting people.
 
It’s not like I’ve sat around the last two years with Mia thinking, "This sucks." No. I think the thought of going back to work or school as soon as Mia was old enough was just always in the back of my mind–that my "real life" would magically start as soon as Mia turned a certain age…what age that was I can’t be too sure.
 
No, I haven’t been hating house-wife life. It’s just that I’ve quietly come to accept, maybe even embrace, the way things are.
 
I love my kids. I love being the one to get Mia’s hugs and kisses while she’s still young enough to give them freely. I love being around during the day to catch her doing funky dances and singing silly songs in her tiny voice. I love being home to sign the permission slips and hear about how excited Cheyenne is about her upcoming field trip. I love our girl talk–talk that might not happen if I worked all the time and was too tired to have such long conversations at night when I got home.
 
Motherhood. I can’t come up with a single thing I have more of a passion for. And I think I’m getting good at this.
 
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

5 responses to “Calling

  • K

    What mightier profession there is than being a mother???  From the sounds of it… you are right at home with this profession and doing a FANTASTIC job at it!  See now hearing THESE stories make me think twice about the whole motherhood thingy… and in the good way!!!
     
    You are a lucky woman Toni!!!
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  • Normal Every Day Life

    I wish I could be a stay at home Mom.  But in my case I bring home more bacon, so that will never happen.  I think it would be wonderful to spend all day with my boys and get to see them learn and grown every min.  Well enough wishing I gotta get back to work.  I like the space I came over from Bug’s Blog.  Have a good weekend!!

  • miranda

    Nice to see you’re finally understanding what we’ve been telling you all along: you are an AMAZING mom, Toni! And Mia’s quotes are way too cute.Your comments cracked me up. In my defense, I hadn’t bought a new purse in many, many months–which translates to decades in Miranda-purse time. AND is was about a billion percent off. There will be no new additions for a while, I swear.

  • Sheryl-Ann

    I often wonder whether I would be a good mother, Toni.  I think I would be too strict because I would want them to do well so much.  Then again, maybe I would spoil them rotten………Hhhmmmmmmm, you are a great mom, Toni, whether Mia is sweet and loving or not:)

  • barnyardmama

    I think it’s a real shame that we do this to ourselves–motherhood doesn’t seem good enough somehow.  Like we have to do MORE MORE MORE.   I feel completely rotton about the idea, but I decided this–jobs come and go, but babies don’t.  I’ve only got one shot at the little one’s early years.
     
    KM

You must be logged in to post a comment.

