Very Bad Things

It’s been an eventful 4…or 5…or however many days it’s been. Saturday we hacked off Mia’s hair. Hacked it clean off, 5 inches of luxurious curls–gone. I don’t know what we were thinking. I only wanted Caleb to trim the bottom–just like maybe 1/2 an inch. But I didn’t specify, and he scissored away and now my precious little angel baby is bouncing around with a sassy chin-length bob. She still has the curls, so that makes me sleep a little better at night.
 
Caleb ganked a tree from a field off the highway in the dark of the night and planted it our backyard. It’s a redbud, and it’s humongous, and I’m sure it looks much nicer by our house than it did on the side of the road.
 
We went to Atwoods and looked for more trees. We ended up leaving without one but instead brought home some of those cute little plastic animals Mia loves so much. They’re made by Schleick (spelling?) and boy, are they anatomically correct. Mia picked out a "baby pig" and a "mama pig" (And I’ll tell you right now it’s more like a daddy pig–WOW.)
 
My father-in-law is driving in tonight to visit and drop off a few things–I’ve mentioned it before, I’m sure, because I am excited. A brand-new-hand-me-down couch (brown in color so as to disguise dirt and dog slober), a sweet swingset/playhouse for the kids (the kind that makes me wish with all my heart that I was Mia’s age again), and an antique liqour cabinet that my mom has been trying to keep at her house–I had to remind the woman that it was MINE, specifically picked out by ME. It belonged to my great grandmother, who gave away that and most of her furniture when she sold her house–I called dibs on the liqour cabinet simply because it needed to be filled with liquor, and we’re probably the only members of the family who would do just that.
 
Well, I’m going to get ready for my company. I went so far as to wash the sheets and scrub the bathroom. I might even cook dinner.
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

6 responses to “Very Bad Things

  • Hilary

    The tree from the side of the road cracked me up!!  One day I called my parents when I was living up in Moscow and my mom was all skittery.  Apparently my parents were stealing river rocks from the side of the road for their backyard!  Tee-hee!  Have a nice weekend! :)

  • Hilary

    The tree from the side of the road cracked me up!!  One day I called my parents when I was living up in Moscow and my mom was all skittery.  Apparently my parents were stealing river rocks from the side of the road for their backyard!  Tee-hee!  Have a nice weekend! :)

  • Sheryl-Ann

    Hey Toni!  I will call the park rangers for you:)  Hope you all have a wonderful time with your father-in-law!  You know after reading your entry about gardening, I have been thinking that I want to purchase a house in the country with lots of land where I can plant fruit trees.  Now that I have this desire, you know I will end up at a college in the middle of a city somewhere:)  However, we will see what happens……I am quite excited about the possibility of having apples, strawberries, raspberries, etc.

  • barnyardmama

    You do deserve the liquor cabinet.  My whole family is trying to steal an antique bookcase from me, but LUCKILY I’m the only one with a wall big enough for it.  Hands off, people! 
     
    Reading your entry below about depression–I too wonder about these things.  Especially as I’ve gone about five months with out the pills.  Probably have an entry of my own on the very same topic.
     
    Have you read http://www.rockstarmommy.com?   I’m pretty sure it’s you–but incognito.  Ok, it’s probably not you, but sometimes you guys are eerily similar.
     
    KM 

  • C.C.

    You know you’ll have to post pics of the "sassy chin-length bob" and the plastic pigs.
     
    If anyone calls me asking for information on the recent, mysterious Oklahoma tree abductions, I’ll just nod and smile.  :-)
     
    –Claire

  • Sheryl-Ann

    Hey Toni!  Just checking in on you and your family with all the tornados and thunderstorms in the area.  Hope everyone is well and safe.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

