Let’s Get This Party Started

I knew it. Deep down, I knew it.
 
I knew it as soon as Mia made it through her first diaperless night completely dry.
 
I knew it as soon as I decided to indulge in a little Labor Day drinky-drink.
 
I knew it as soon as I teared up during the end credits of “Harry and the Hendersons”…(but in all fairness to me, it’s a heart-tugging family comedy that you’d have to be a cyborg not to be slightly emotional over. Have you ever really listened to Joe Cocker’s “Love Lives On” in its entireity? Touching stuff.)
 
I knew it as soon as we spent half of our deductible on hormone testing–hormone testing that came back perfectly normal.
 
I’ve worked long and hard for this. And although a late period didn’t clue me in right away, I figured it out. The sleepiness and fatigue that I thought was brought on by all the exercise and activity…the headaches that I thought for sure were caused by that all that damn fresh air. The non-coffee-craving mornings–oh my God–how is it that I don’t want COFFEE? Could I be…?
 
Yes, friends. We’re pregnant.
 
Expecting.
With Child.
In the Family Way.
Eating for 2.
Preggo.
Preggers.
Got a bun in the oven.
Knocked Up.
 
If you’ve got any more euphamisms I’d love to hear them. The dirtier, the funnier.
 
I bought a test on Thursday and took it immediately upon returning home from the grocery store. Mia recieved the brunt of my delight. I snatched her up and tossed her in the air and twirled her round and round all the while shrieking, “Yes YES Yes! Mommy’s got a baby in her tummy! Yes YES Yes!!!”
 
Mia in turn held onto that information all day, so that while I was brainstorming for a clever way to tell Caleb, she was running around the house shouting “Mommy’s got a baby in her tummy! Yes YES Yes! I can’t believe it!”
 
I realized that maybe waiting to break the news over the weekend wasn’t going to work out, no matter how much I insisted it was “our little secret.” We ran out and bought 2 books–all about becoming a big sister. When we got back to the house, Caleb was there. Mia hugged him and didn’t hesitate before whispering our secret in his ear. It took a few times repeating it, but when he looked at the books she wanted him to read, he got it.
 
I. Am. On. Cloud. Nine.
 
Caleb is too. We are flying high and that’s on just the happiness alone. Granted, it’s pretty early on and we’ve got a long way to go, but we waste no opportunity to celebrate this kind of occasion as long as we can. We are MILKING IT. Our entire extended circle of family, friends, family friends, aquaintances, business colleages, and even a few strangers were clued in within 24 hours. My mom heard the news before I was even done peeing on the stick.
 
I realize that getting this worked up is not neccessarily the wisest approach–4 weeks along still leaves a lot of time for something bad to go down–but I DON’T CARE. I am so stinkin’ thrilled and so grateful and so excited that I can’t even stand myself.
 
Will I become one of those people that starts blogging about nothing but pregnancy? You betchurass. Let’s get this party started.
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

9 responses to “Let’s Get This Party Started

  • TexasGirlJen

    1. YEA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I knew it would be soon. I just knew it! So happy for you! You guys need a boy now to balance everything out.
     
    2. Can I hire you?! To do something? Anything?! I am AMAZED by your talent. WOW. Go into business. You won’t regret it 

  • Nikki

    Congratulations Toni & Caleb! I’m so happy (and a little jealous) for you guys.   

  • Normal Every Day Life

     Congratulations!!! 

  • Johanna

    Toni & Caleb-
    Congratulations!!!!
    Best Wishes ~ take care of yourself.
    Johanna 

  • barnyardmama

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!   Just when you got Mia through the night, eh?   I’m really happy for you two.
     
    I read that entry about Brian–really great.
     
    And that squash/vegetable thing you did?  Too cute!
     
    KM 

  • Bev

    Congratulations on the bun in the oven!!  That is so exciting!!  I hope and pray that all goes well for you and the bambino.
     
    Blessings to you.
     
    BBB

  • Hilary

    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!  I’m SOOOOOO excited for you!!!  All that trying paid off!!!  Woo-hoo!  And your calligraphy is amazing…Toni, you are so incredibly talented (I LOVED the beer baby veggies!!!)…*cyber hug and screaming from excitement*

  • K

    OMG… CONGRATS HON!!  To you both… I know how muc you wanted this a while ago… and here you are now!!   

You must be logged in to post a comment.

