Benadryl and Left-Over Turkey–The Breakfast of Champions

 
  Whew! Yesterday is over!
 
  Thank you to the people that prayed for my dad–his surgery went fine and he is doing pretty good. Tomorrow he even has a job interview! I talked to my mom almost all day yesterday while she waited around at the hospital. It was one of those days that I wished we lived closer. A lot closer. I know I’m supposed to be a big girl now, but I miss my mommy and daddy.
 
  My doctor’s appointment went just dandy. My bee-sting is looking not-so-infectious, my head cold is going away, and the baby is growing just like it ought to, despite the weight loss, which, I think due mostly to Thanksgiving, has started to slow down a little. That, and it’s so freaking cold I can’t bear to go for my daily walk around the neighborhood. Anyway, I get to schedule THE ultrasound in about 3 weeks–and yes, I’ve officially cracked as far as not wanting to find out the baby’s sex. I sooooo want to know. It’s killing me–the fact that in 3 weeks I could start calling the baby a "he" or a "she". I could start psyching Mia up for her new brother or sister. And most importantly, I could start shopping! I’ve got to talk Caleb out of "waiting"…but I think maybe he’s close to the breaking point, so only a little push should take care of him. Hmmm…What other part of our alleged "plans" can I destroy?
 
  Since my meeting with the dietician, I’ve gotten into the obsessive/compulsive habit of adding up my "food groups" at the end of the day. Did I get in enough calcium? How many starches did I eat? Can I count pineapple-coconut ice-cream as a fruit? And is it absolutely mandatory that I have 2 servings of vegetables a day? It’s become sort of a game for me…and a somewhat enjoyable game at that. I know I pretty much sound like a nerd right now. Deal with it. I’ll be back to my normal chocolate-inhaling, coke-and-beer-guzzling self after I have the baby.
 
  I managed to pass my nasty cold along to poor Mia, who hasn’t slept more than 20 minutes at a time in the past 2 nights. She can’t breathe through her nose, and apparently breathing through her mouth is too radical a thought to comprehend. She’s so miserable. I’ve tricked her into thinking Benadryl’s Chewables are little purple candies, so keeping her medicated has been fairly easy. I can’t wait for this thing to be over.
 
  And so as we are both not feeling quite up-to-snuff, today is going to be another indoor, pajama, blankets, and hot cocoa day for us. You guys enjoy the rest of your week.
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

6 responses to “Benadryl and Left-Over Turkey–The Breakfast of Champions

  • miranda

    YAY for finding out the sex!!! That just about tripled my excitement for you.Hope you and Mia get better soon and get to enjoy the rest of your week.

  • C.C.

    Whoohoo!!  You cracked!!!
     
    Have you tried the Vick’s VapoRub for babies?  It helped Celine a lot when she had a cold a few weeks ago.
     
    And, Yay! for your dad!! 

  • Hilary

    I would HAVE to know the sex!!!!  I’m glad you are feeling better, and when I thought I was pregnant, I got all obsessed about the food group thing!  Its not bad though cause it makes you more aware of your eating habits!!!  I hope Miss Mia feels better, it sucks being sick when you’re an adult, more so when you are a kid!

  • Tiffany

    Hey girl… I’m SO glad that your Dad’s surgery went okay.
     
    That is SO exciting that we are finding out the sex on the same day!  I cannot wait!!!!  I told myself that I was going to have the Ultrasound Tech put the results in an envelope and open it on Christmas Day.  I mean, it’s only 4 days… but I don’t even think I could wait 4 days.
     
    Baylee’s Singulair she has to take daily…I have convinced her as well that it’s a candy she gets everyday.  She’s usually good about taking her meds.  She is also on Zyrtec and Nasonex… and they have determined that it’s allergies and asthma!
     
    I’m not teaching the Bible study… actually my neighbor is the leader of it.  The study is called Power of a Praying Wife.  It’s been actually fun and nice to get to know the women in my group.  We are all pretty much the same age and 3 of the girls live in my neighborhood. 
     
    Girl, talk about Thanksgiving… I’m glad to be home and away from my Mother-in-Law’s fridge.  OMG… we had TOO much food and ate it ALL weekend… lunch and dinner and everything they cook is coated with butter so it’s been nice to get home and not pig out.  Plus, getting off the Bendectin has really helped my eating habits.  I don’t know why but it made me eat like crazy.
     
    Talk to you soon!
    Tiffany

  • barnyardmama

    I’m all about finding out the sex–makes the naming thing more fun.
     
    cocoa on pajamas?  color me jealous–I feel like charlie’s got more energy than me these days
     
    Oh–I’ve never been able to spell.  I know all my real-life friends are snickering at that last entry.
     
    KM

  • Joell

    SO thankful your Dad’s surgery went well…whew!
     
    Hey I like the new look of your space…it’s blue…does that mean we’re hoping for a boy??? Hmm?
     
    Love the Thanksgivingish pics too.  Beautiful family you’ve got there. 

You must be logged in to post a comment.

