She Get It From Her Momma

 
Saturday. Week 15, Day 5. What a great day! It’s fricking freezing. It’s fricking rainy. Our plans to hit up our favorite Christmas tree farm are foiled yet again for the second week in a row. No biggie. We’ll just go without a tree for another week. I feel so…incomplete.
 
Everyone around here is recovering nicely from the sniffles. Caleb’s got it the worst out of all of us right now, but he’s distracting himself out in the garage with his handy-dandy workbench–yeah, I thought he was done with that, too, but apparently it’s no ordinary workbench. It’s a work table with multiple levels of shelving…and then of course there’s the staining and pretty-ing up of the thing. Wow! If whatever he builds looks half as good as what he’s building it on, we’ll be in good shape.
 
My little sister Jenny took a quick run to the hospital yesterday morning after dealing with some real-live contractions. Evidently Baby Reese doesn’t want to miss out on her Christmas presents. She’s smart–and obviously very impatient–and she’s not even born yet. As far as I know, Jenny’s still having the contractions and she’s only 35 weeks–close enough, I guess…it’s still a little too early but at this point the baby’s chances of being born completely healthy are excellent…or so I’ve been told. She’s officially quit her job and will spend the next month (or day, or however long it happens to be) chilling out at home, waiting for the baby. I gotta say, I’m excited. My sister, having a baby! Now she’ll know how it feels, and I’ll have someone to swap nasty baby stories with! Someone to understand when my kids are driving me crazy! And best of all, I can feel all warm and smug when Miss-Sleep-til-Noon becomes Miss-I-Can’t-Even-Keep-My-Eyes-Open-Because-That-Kid-Is-Always-Waking-Me-Up-At-Night. Yes!
 
I’d say I’m totally kidding about that last part, but I’m not. Not even a little bit.
 
I love you Jenny.
 
And I hope you can hang in there a little bit longer. Because I’d sure hate for you to miss out on the ultimate pregnancy joy of being 2 weeks overdue. Now that’s fun.
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

5 responses to “She Get It From Her Momma

  • Tiffany

    Hey girl… this weather does suck and since it’s raining there I guess that means we will be getting rain yet again in the next day or so.  UGH… don’t you love this time of year?  I was surprised when I came out of church last night that it was raining and freezing cold!  It’s cloudy here and perfect weather for sleeping in, but that never happens anymore.  Britt and I use to "take turns" on the weekends sleeping in, but Baylee always wants me to get up with her now. 
     
    I hope you get your tree soon.  I finally finished putting mine up yesterday.  That was a nice relief to get that done.  Just have to put some finishing touches on the dining room table and I will be all set!  :)
     
    Hugs to you!
    Tiffany

  • Bev

    I am glad everyone is getting over their sniffles.  I am getting over mine as well.  Don’t you just LOVE the name Reese?  Our kids have some friends with a little baby named Reese.  She is just a beautiful little baby and I love that name.  I hope your sister holds out till her due date. 
     
    Take care of yourself and your bambino too!!
     
    BBB

  • miranda

    I hope all is going well for your sis! And for all of you with the sniffles, of corse.I still haven’t a tree, either. I’m super grumpy/pms-y lately and I’m actually thinking of *gasp!* skipping it this year. I feel like it’s too far into the month by the time we’ll have a chance to get one, and they are a mess, and it’s money I don’t HAVE to spend, and if I make a ton of Christmas tree cookies can’t that be enough???

  • C.C.

    A pre-lit tree is the way to go.  Your life will never be the same.  No more crawling beneath pokey branches to water the darn thing.  No more allergic reactions to the sap.  No more having to schlep out in the cold to tree shop.  No more fighting with strands of lights.  Buy a pine-scented air freshener, place strategically near the tree, and you’re good to go.
     
    Update us on Jenny soon!!!! 

  • C.C.

    A pre-lit tree is the way to go.  Your life will never be the same.  No more crawling beneath pokey branches to water the darn thing.  No more allergic reactions to the sap.  No more having to schlep out in the cold to tree shop.  No more fighting with strands of lights.  Buy a pine-scented air freshener, place strategically near the tree, and you’re good to go.
     
    Update us on Jenny soon!!!! 

You must be logged in to post a comment.

