ONE THING THAT IS REALLY PISSING ME OFF RIGHT NOW

Great day, great day everyone.
 
Oh, and in case you haven’t already heard, Jamie Lynn Spears is pregnant. And she’s only 16. Just thought you should know. If you didn’t yet. There was a huge stink about the whole situation on the afternoon radio yesterday–"Call in and tell us if you think Nickelodeon should support Jamie Lynn or fire her!" Not surprisingly, in the white-country-boy-backwoods-Baptist-God’ll-damn-you-to-hell state that is Oklahoma, pretty much everyone was ticked off that the poor girl wasn’t getting shut down. Geez. Why is everybody up in arms about this? You’d think she was the first girl to ever get pregnant in high school. Now, I’ll admit, my very first thoughts were "What the hell are kids these days thinking? What is wrong with that family?" But then, oh yeah, I got knocked up when I was 15. And I’ll tell ya, there are worse things I could’ve done.
 
And I’ll tell you something else, too. The only message kids are going to get from finding out that Jamie Lynn Spears got herself pregnant and then subsequently fired is "Get an abortion lest you ruin your life." It won’t be "Don’t have sex", because with or without Zoey 101, they’re going to have sex anyway. (Yeah they are. You can deny it all you want, but it’s gonna happen. I’m sorry.) My prediction is that Jamie Lynn’s having a baby will neither deter nor inspire teen pregnancy, for the most part. Parents need to calm the hell down and quit relying on television to educate their children or to provide role models for their children. Maybe people are pissed off because up until know, the subject had never truly presented itself. Parents thought their kids were blissfully unaware–or not–but at least teen pregnancy wasn’t all up in their faces, and now, well crap. Parents might actually have to–gulp–talk to their kids about sex. Maybe this is a good thing–it forces the issue a bit. Uncomfortable, yes, but neccessary, and at an earlier age than most people think, these days, I’m sure.
 
I’ve already had several talks (lectures, discussions, whatever you want to call them) with Cheyenne–and she’s only 11. She can count on several more throughout the years, and she knows it. I’m even going to watch that Linda Ellerby "Don’t-Have-Sex" after-school special, Nickelodeon’s "answer" (or apology?) to the whole Jamie Lynn catastrophe, with her. And then there’s the crushed up birth-control pills I slip in her Cheerios every morning…
 
And that’s all I have to say about that.
 
Christmas is getting close. I can hardly contain myself. I’ve tried making cookies but have lost my touch. No big deal. It wasn’t that much of a touch to begin with. Used to be I made pleasantly crispy cookies–this year most of them have turned out quite…charred. I’ll keep practicing. I’m pregnant, and I’m not missing out on cookies.
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

5 responses to “ONE THING THAT IS REALLY PISSING ME OFF RIGHT NOW

  • Tiffany

    Hey girl!  I totally agree with you about Jamie Lynn.  Totally ridiculous!  And, you are so right… there are MUCH worse things that could happen to her or that she could be doing.  I’m sure the baby will be supported and taken care of so why is everyone making such a stink about it?  Crazy stuff.
     
    You know… I hadn’t made cookies from scratch for a while.  I broke out the old recipe book the other day and made the best chocolate chocolate chip cookies.  I sent most of them with Britt to take to a good customer of his.  And, the rest were gone the same day!  I need to post that recipe out on my blog site for everyone.
     
    Big Hugs to you… we are going to Cabot tomorrow morning and are coming back a little earlier than expected because of everything going on next week.  That’s okay though because that means we don’t have to drive 2 cars.
     
    Anyway… if I don’t post until we get back (I’m sure I will though) have a wonderful Christmas!
    Tiffany

  • Bev

    Yeah…..they are making such a big deal about this.  It happens ALL. THE. TIME.  You just don’t hear about it.  At least this girl has the resources to take care of the child and hopefully her maternal instincts will  be better than her sister’s. 
     
    Hang in there on the cookies!!  You’ll get ’em done!
     
    Merry Christmas to you and yours!!
     
    BBB

  • Nooner™

     
    Hey toni,
     
    I’m not by too often .. but came to wish you a very Merry Christmas!!!!
    And here’s wishing that the balance of your pregnancy will be as comfortable as possible for you!!!
    All the best to you, toni.
     
    ~Nooner~
     

  • Tracy

    I don’t always comment on here but had to say I agree with you totally about Jamie Lynn.  People are all up in arms about it and yes, it’s an "oops" but geez if nothing else maybe it’ll bring about parent-kid discussions that otherwise wouldn’t have happened.  I know that my parents NEVER talked to me about the birds and the bees.  I just kind of figured it out on my own, mostly from reading library books. If I ever have kids I will be sure to talk about it- Cheyenne is lucky to have you, and lucky it’s an "open" subject with you.
     
    And congrats on the boy news, exciting!!

  • Joell

    Hey Toni…again I’m on a marathon "catch up on blog entries".  It sucks when you go visit family and they have dial up!  I mean, God forbid should I have to go back to that.  Or they have high speed but their router is messed up.  SIGH. 
     
    On the Jamie Lynn front: surprised, yes, hate it for her, yes, glad she’s not aborting her baby, yes.  Totally agree with you on all fronts.  WAY worse things could happen than becoming pregnant at 16.  Agree with bbubbles and hope that Jamie has better mothering skills that her sad sister.  Missed the "don’t have sex show" with Linda Ellerbee…how was it?  Right now I’m relying on myself and the American Girl Body Book to get the info across.  😉
     
    Hope you ate lots of cookies for Christmas!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

