Don’t Know What You Got Til It’s Gone

 
Well, I’ve calmed down a little bit this week. Maybe it’s all the relaxing I’ve been doing; maybe it’s just knowing that I’ve got the closet nice and organized and ready for our kid (even though he won’t be here for another several months). I’m not so worried about having a boy anymore…well, at least for now.
 
Caleb and I have been aggressively negotiating boys’ names. He scoffed at "Silas", and I vetoed "Riddick." We were almost settled on "Jackson" until I killed it dead with my "Just Jack" impression from Will and Grace.
 
I thought it was cute.
 
Back to the drawing board.
 
On Sunday we sorted through clothes–mostly Caleb’s–and took 10 bags worth of wonderful wearable stuff over to Goodwill. You’d think our closet drawers and shelves would be bare after that, but you would be wrong. It blows my mind to think we had somehow crammed all that crap in there. I’d say a good 75% of it hadn’t been worn in over 2 years.
 
Caleb is a horrible packrat. I tend to throw things away without thinking. If it’s lying around and I don’t like the look of it–clothes, shoes, papers, decorations–it’s out, and whether it all goes to The Salvation Army, Goodwill, or the trash can, I care not. My habit has gotten me into trouble before. Important phone numbers, files, directions, reciepts, warranties…you know, the stuff you’d never even know was gone until one day by stroke of bad luck you need it in the worst way. I’m surprised I’m not divorced yet.
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

6 responses to “Don’t Know What You Got Til It’s Gone

  • Tiffany

    That’s awesome that you went through everything.  I did that just a few months ago and had to do Britt’s side of the closet when he
    was gone.  He is HORRIBLE about getting rid of his clothes.  It doesn’t matter if I point out to him that he hasn’t worn it since I’ve know him.  It’s hilarious!  I’m just like you… I don’t keep anything…. I don’t like the clutter.
     
    Good luck with the name selection… it’s kicking my butt.  Baylee still keeps saying that she wants to name the baby Hashew (Ha-shoe) is what is sounds like.  I have NO idea where she got that!
     
    Big Hugs – Tiffany

  • Bev

    I am glad to hear you have calmed down.  Hmmmm.  Cleaning out closets gives you that good of a feeling??  I must try that.  I must be Caleb’s long lost not twin sister.  Call me packrat!!  I am better than I used to be.  I have a ways to go though.  I went to school with a guy named Silas.  He was really really nice.  No chance of another kid in the class having that name.  So you all nixed that one huh??
     
    Happy New Year, friend!!
     
    BBB

  • Hilary

    Riddick???  HAHAHA! :)  Boys crack me up…

  • miranda

    Aww! I like Jackson! Too bad.Happy 2008!

  • Cindy

    I’m like you … if I haven’t used it/worn it/looked for it in at least a year … get rid of it.  Who needs all that stuff laying around?  AND!  If it turns out I need it for something else, I just get rid of the other thing too.  I get clutternuts!  Now my parents on the other hand … OY!  My dad prints his emails from family and puts them in folders.  *SIGH*
     
    Riddick? Hashew? Oh Dear Gawd!  I’ve always liked the simple names like James, Mark, I like Jackson …  I like Brady and Cody and of course I gave my approval for my grandson to be named Logan and picked out Evan for our youngest.  Well that’s my 2 cents.  Back to my corner.
     
    Happy New Year!
     
    Congrats on the boy or should I say … Good Luck *teehee*
     

  • Joell

    Glad you vetoed Riddick.  I mean, really?  Is he serious.
     
    I need to go through our clothes SO bad.  Poor Emma can hardly fit her stuff in her dresser…

You must be logged in to post a comment.

