Why Don’t You Just Press The Easy Button?

 
Week 20, Day 2. Or 3? And who really cares enough to count by actual days anyway?
 
When I was pregnant with Mia I started having shortness of breath followed by what felt like a heart attack at around this far in. Today I experienced a little bit of the old symptoms; only this time could I immediately diagnose myself with anxiety and that calmed me the hell down. Drinking ice water and laying on my left side helped to relax me a little bit. I even enjoyed a nice soak in the tub while Mia flung armloads of not-so-soft bath toys at me and insisted upon "washing" my hair with her Fairy-Berry-Strawberry Shampoo. It was…pure bliss. I am somewhat relaxed now, 7 hours later.
 
I skipped grocery shopping in town and instead have discovered the ultimate joy of shopping online. Did anyone else out there realize that you can have Sam’s club pull your entire shopping list and have it ready for you to pick up within 24 hours? This is something I wish I’d known about while Mia was going through her terrible two’s. You just pick up your order, pay for it, and poof! You’re on your way home. No crowds; no navigating through that dingy warehouse-setting chasing a hyper toddler and buying a bunch of stuff you don’t need.
 
Another online shopping discovery: Barnes and Noble is way cheaper over the internet, and certain orders can be shipped for free. So rather than trek into town and spend $5 more per hardcover childrens’ story book, plus pay the friendly local United States Postal Service a whopping $15.00 to deliver these not so lightweight gifts, I simply ORDERED the books and had them delivered for FREE! (I now encourage you to congratulate me like the genius that I am.)
 
I also bought my plane ticket down to Georgia today; and in February I’ll be well on my way to visit my sister, her husband, and my new little NEICE-Y REESE-Y! (Yeah, I said it.) Bonus is that my mom’s also visiting my sister that weekend, so we’re gonna all hang out together. It’ll be just like old times, except Jenny will be the one with the kid and I’ll have absolutely no one to take care of but my damn self. That might also fall under the catergory of pure bliss. We’ll see.
 
 
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

4 responses to “Why Don’t You Just Press The Easy Button?

  • Tiffany

    I am having the same thing with the shortness of breath… I just think it’s all the extra blood in my body and not being to regulate the temp in the house because the weather is so up and down lately.  And, it probably doesn’t help that I made AT LEAST 50 trips up and down the attic stairs today… so after that I felt like I was having a freaking heart attack.
     
    Isn’t that awesome that Sam’s Club does that?  I love it! 
     
    You are going to have so much fun in Feb. when you go for your visit!  It will be here before you know it!  Oh, after going through all of those clothes… A) I didn’t realize Baylee had so many B) None of them have stains on them!  WOO HOO!
     
    I’m out!
     
    Hugs – Tiff

  • Hilary

    Last Christmas (Dec 2006, not 2007, I was too damn unorganized…) I bought ALL of my Christmas presents online.  It was AWESOME, much easier, cheaper and no stress!  I didn’t know about Sam’s Club, but that’s pretty amazing!  I was going to post a longer (and wittier, at least I think so) posting about resolutions, but after trying three times I gave up! :)  Did you guys agree on a name????

  • Nikki

    Oh, You are gonna have such a good time in GA! You shoulda got a layover here in Fayetteville. lol I would have come to see you!

  • Joell

    Yes, you are a genius.
     
    That is awesome about the grocery delivery!  Wow.
     
    Bet you can’t wait till February!!  Sounds so fun.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

