Things That Make My Stomach Turn

 
Today, as I was driving to pick Cheyenne up from school, there was a car in front of me with a bumper sticker that said, and I quote, "To HELL With Our Enemies; God Bless The United States."
 
And, yes, that upper-case HELL was actually underlined on the sticker.
 
That’s a little harsh, is it not? I mean, come on. Snow fell in Baghdad today; fighting stopped and people were happy, if only for a little while. Doesn’t every country deserve a little of that?
 
I’m reminded of the movie "Head of State" with Chris Rock. He runs for president, and his opponent had the great slogan of "God Bless America, and No Where Else." It seemed pretty absurd in the movie, and yet, here it was, backwoods-redneck-uber-bigoted stupidity at its finest, staring me right in the face, in the very town that I live. The odd thing about it was that the car had a Washington state plate, so whoever was driving it had obviously expanded his horizons a little more than your ordinary close-minded country boy by living more than 2 hours away from the location of his birth. Please note that not every ignorant person is a redneck from Oklahoma.
 
He or she could be from Alabama.
 
I’m kidding.
 
Another thing that shocked me during that 5 minute trip was the realization that my kid somehow knows the words to Night Ranger’s "Sister Christian". Truthfully, I’m not sure what disturbed me more: The bumper sticker in front of me, or my kid belting out "WHAT’S YOUR PRICE FOR FLIGHT" at the top of her lungs. It’s something to think about.
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

2 responses to “Things That Make My Stomach Turn

  • Bev

    Bumper stickers (and attitudes like that) are a sad commentary of our times.  We are the most privileged people on the face of the earth and yet people don’t want others to experience what we have.  I saw a little blip on this morning’s early show about the snow in Baghdad.  What a simple joy it was for those people.  How can we not be happy that those people experienced that for even a little while given the horrors they have lived with for years and years.
     
    It is hard to remember how much little ones learn just from hearing day to day things.  They are like little sponges just soaking it all in…and then regurgitating it at the most surprising times!!
     
    Have a great weekend, my friend!!
     
    BBB

  • Joell

    A.  There are a lot of dumbasses in the world.  Many of them do, in fact, live in the south.  It’s true.
     
    B.  Mia singing Sister Christian….BWAHAHAHAHA.  I nearly peed my pants.  It is definitely something to think about.  I love what you said in the previous post about Mia and how she wants Diego to come out and play.  So sweet.  She must make you laugh every day. 

You must be logged in to post a comment.

