…And I’m Spent.

 
Hello, all.
 
Just got back last night from Georgia–yup. The planets all aligned and I was able to go visit my sister and her family. My health held out, I made it to the airport amidst the ice and snow, and my flight wasn’t cancelled…so I actually had to suck it up and get on the plane–but it was worth it.
 
My neice is beautiful, but that goes without saying. This was the first trip I’d actually taken without my family…ever…and all I did was sit around and hold a baby. Oh, and eat. Good food. It. Was. Awesome.
 
Had a little bit of a hump to get over Thursday night, totally unrelated to the ominous weather. I needed a suitcase, and the only one that wasn’t in the attic was this nasty, ripped little excuse of a carry-on bag that Caleb drug out of his car for me. I took one look at it and laughed. Unfortunately, Caleb was not joking and told me to shut up and use it or else he wouldn’t drive me through the ice to the airport the next morning at 4:00. And so, I was forced to pack all my pretty clothes into that ugly thing. It really wouldn’t have been a big deal–I’m not so completely spoiled that I wouldn’t use an old Walmart suitcase–but when my polka-dotted underwear fell out of an unusually large hole, I had to throw a bitch fit. Although he stuck to his story about the bag being "just fine", Caleb trekked up to the attic and retrieved a fairly new Walmart carry on bag. I was pacified. Problem solved.
 
Anyway, I got into Atlanta at around 9:00. My mom and my youngest sister, Katie, drove up to join the festivities. Luckily, Katie was stark-raving sick, Jenny wasn’t stingy with her child, and my mom was feeling generous, so I was able to pretty much hog the baby to all my heart’s content. Friday we sat around and made a delicious dinner at the house–we played "Scene It"…and I actually lost. Saturday we shopped till we dropped and went out to eat at a Japanese restaurant before coming home and having birthday ice-cream-cake in honor of my brother-in-law. And Sunday we hung out and watched a movie before taking off our separate ways. Every night I went to bed and slept like a log all the way until morning. Heaven.
 
Later I’ll post pictures of my trip, but for now, I’ll close with a specialized list:
 
  • Oh, now I remember–babies aren’t that scary! Is it normal to like the smell of spit-up?
  • A nine-pound baby is still a pretty small baby. I can’t imagine what it felt like to hold Reese at a whopping four pounds.
  • Besides my own house, my sister’s is just about the only other place where I might accidentally wash my hair with medicated dog shampoo in the shower.
  • Dogs will–surprisingly–not suffocate underneath the covers.
  • Some dogs are a-okay to sleep with.
  • My brother-in-law is perhaps the only person in the world whose mad useless-trivia skills rival my own.
  • Expired Godiva chocolates taste just fine.
  • I heart my mother’s employee discount at Dillards. (look foward to a photo of my new Kenneth Cole suitcase–coming soon!)
  • Note to self: a big screen TV could really be worth checking into.
  • Hacking cough + steady diet of Lucky Charms marshmallows, sweet tarts, and alcohol = HACKING COUGH.
  • Caleb did not–and probably could not–keep the house cleaner than when I left it, despite his boastingly pompous claim to the contrary. Guess I’m not the only one who’s not perfect around here. This is quite possibly the nicest observation I’ve made over the course of the weekend.

We also had a little incident involving the big, honkin’, solid, wooden playhouse in our backyard. Last Monday it was picked up by the wind, a-la-Wizard of Oz, and blown over on its side about 20-30 feet away from its original location. I saw the whole thing happen–and if you’ve ever seen our playhouse, you’d be shocked. It’s massive–it’s one of those humongous wood cadillac-of-backyard-playsets, complete with a slide and a tunnel and ladders and rock-climbing and swings and a sandbox and a porch underneath a second-story clubhouse with a deck…talk about a powerful gust of wind. I’ll be including a picture of that in the new album as well.

 

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

5 responses to “…And I’m Spent.

  • C.C.

    VERY scary about the playhouse!!!!!!!! 
     
    I don’t know why they even bother putting an expiration date on Godivas.  😉
     
    So glad you enjoyed your trip!  Are the girls happy to have you home?

  • ♥ Aimee

    glad that you had such a great time…
    *~* :o) if you do not have a smile today… :o) I will give you one of mine… :o) *~*

  • Tiffany

    Okay, there for a few seconds I totally forgot you went to visit your Sister… I’m such a dork sometimes!  :)  Reese is GORGEOUS!  She looks healthy as ever and you would of never guessed she was so tiny when she was born.  Baylee was 4lbs 7oz when we brought her home and too small for her preemie clothes!  It’s amazing how fast they grow up!  That’s funny about the suitcase situation.  I’m like you when it comes to traveling though.  You don’t want your underwear falling out all over the place!  I’m glad you made it safe and sound though!
     
    The wind was crazy wasn’t it?  My MIL called me to tell me that their shingles on their house were blown off.  So, I guess they were getting that fixed last week.
     
    Yes, contractions dammit.  You know… it’s 74 fucking degrees out right now.  We did manage to go to the library because I had to print some stuff off.  Our printer won’t hook in to our new laptop.  Anyway… they told me to take it easy and Baylee wants to go ride her bike to the park SO BAD.  I hope Britt gets home soon! 
     
    Your Sister’s dogs are cute!
     
    Big Hugs to you and I look forward to the new pics!
     
    Tiff

  • barnyardmama

    I keep telling my husband that I need a big screen TV, but he refuses–he thinks they’re ridiculous. 
     
    It’s not weird to like the smell of spit up–I like the smell of baby spit.  It’s just a freaky maternal thing I guess.
     
    Reese is a cutie!  So good that you got to see her while she’s still small.
     
    KM

  • Joell

    "A nine-pound baby is still a pretty small baby."….unless you are pushing said baby out of your baby pushin’ hole.  And said baby is 10 pounds, not nine.  I’m just sayin’.
     
    Glad you had a wonderful time.  😉 You deserve it!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

