“Sports Fan”

 
So. About the above pictured: I dragged Caleb into Baby Depot yesterday and made him look at baby crap with me–I had to. Activities such as this, or just thoughts about the baby even, must be scheduled and forced upon him; otherwise decisions would never be made and stuff would never get done.
 
Much to my pleasant surprise, he did not resist (much) and actually got into the whole baby shopping thing. At the end of our session he turned to me and said, and I quote, "It just hit me that we’re having a baby soon." I can’t really get angry with him; he’s not the one lugging around an 80 pound living moving being in his stomach.
 
Anyway, we did end up deciding on some crib bedding, which does, I guess, determine somewhat of a theme for our closet, or future nursery. You know how some people go nuts with pink lace and ballerinas when they find out they’re having a girl? That’s sort of what we did here, except opposite. This will be the first boy born in my family in almost 30 years, so to say we’re "a little excited" about our son would be the understatement of the century. We want to boy it up in this kid’s room. I searched for dinosaurs playing baseball on firetrucks, but I guess no one’s come up with that design yet, so we went for a six-piece set of navy blues and browns with a hint of football and soccer–I looked online for the same thing sold cheaper somewhere else, but babydepot.com seems to have the better deal so far. I have to say I’m relieved that Caleb hasn’t brought up doing a Florida Gator themed baby’s room. And by the way, Mom, the orange and blue beanbag chair that you so thoughtfully sent up did not help my cause. You are, however, allowed to send Seminole paraphenalia…
 
Maybe later I’ll get a life-size cardboard cut-out of a slam-dunking Michael Jordan to accent the wicked-rad Monster truck mural I’m currently thinking about painting.
 
To keep you up to date on the naming situation, I’ve uncovered a secret, dirty, under-handed plan of Caleb’s: He’s going to keep on throwing out horrible names (such as Riddick) right up until the due date, so that when he does come up with any old semi-decent name, I’ll be so happy it wasn’t one of the ones I completely hated, that I’ll actually agree to sign the birth certificate. To be quite honest we have a little of the same tastes when we’re thinking of "real" names, so I don’t really worry so much about it…No bringing the Baby Name Book to the hospital. Come up with at least a short, short list by the time I’m in labor. If that’s the case, then I don’t mind waiting until the last minute, just so long as I know what to call him before I put him on my boob.
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

4 responses to ““Sports Fan”

  • miranda

    I like the bedding! And I’m so glad it sounds like you guys had a relatively easy time picking it out. When Triforce and I went to pick out stuff for a friend’s baby shower a month ago I was totally overwhelmed by all the choices. Do you guys seem to be having a harder time with the boy’s name than you did with Mia’s? We’ve been (way prematurely) talking about names forever now and we’ve had a girls name in place for about 2 years and we just can’t seem to see eye to eye on a boy’s name. For some reason this was really stressing me out the last few months; just the fact that we couldn’t even kind of agree on anything made me feel like we’d never be able to work together as parents. I’m totally ridiculous, I know. So last weekend I forced him to sit and make a list of names we’d at least consider and now we have about 20 names that we could compromise on when the time comes. I don’t need a name to be set before hand, I just needed to know that we could do it when we needed to.Anyway, I can’t wait to see how this baby naming thing pans out with you guys!

  • Tiffany

    I love the bedding!  It’s kind of nice to be have another girl because I’m re-using Baylee’s.  Unless I actually get the bedding I registered for when the girls have my baby shower.  I kind of feel weird… almost guilty having a baby shower.  But, my friends are insisting and I’m not arguing.  :)
     
    I’m so excited to hear the baby name you guys come up with!  We are still stuck at Blair, but no middle name!  It’s a lot harder than Baylee’s name!  I don’t know why!
     
    Big Hugs to you!
    Tiffany

  • ♥ Aimee

    picking a name is the hardest…we can’t agree on anything either..
    *~*   :o) if you don’t have a smile to give today…  :o) I will give you one of mine…  :o)   *~*

  • barnyardmama

    ‘m not quite that I really like the bedding and I know you’ll be able to do some cute stuff with it.  I’ve always wished that I could design and create my own nursury stuff, but I’m not quite that crafty, so Charlie has an elephant thing in his room.  It’s not particularly boyish because I wanted unisex baby stuff.  That way, I don’t have to go buy all new stuff for a new baby.  I might still, but I didn’t want to feel forced into it.
     
    Charlie didn’t have a name for a few hours.  I didn’t get to see him or anything and I just felt weird naming someone when I didn’t really even know what he looked like.  My husband finally said, "just go with the name we picked."  I’m still not completely sure he looks like a Charlie.  He sure doesn’t look like I imagined my Charlie would.  Hmmmm. . .I’m babbling.
     
    KM

You must be logged in to post a comment.

