FRICK…or not.

 
Contrary to popular belief, my husband isn’t a drug dealer.
 
He works for an actual company that pays an actual salary, and that can actually lay 36 out of 42 people off at any given point in time. And, contrary to popular belief, they can do this even when one of those people is the sole breadwinner of a family with 2 kids and a wife about to give birth to another one in less than a month.
 
Sometimes life is hilarious like that.
 
Caleb is eerily calm. He’s actually the most relaxed I’ve seen him in the 7 years I’ve known him. Suicide watch, you say? Maybe. But honestly, I think he’s at peace–and he’s ready to put forth some real effort into finding a job that will better suit him–one that doesn’t require an 18-pack of beer for him to sleep a couple hours a night. This is a good thing. This is the kick he needed. This is an opportunity.
 
And it could be worse. Case in point: Caleb normally has our taxes done by the end of January. We normally have bills paid off and what not by the middle of February with that money. Yet FOR SOME REASON, this year Caleb has put things off til the last minute; only last week did he hit the "done" button, and now we have a decent-sized tax return coming, that instead of putting towards student loans and mortgages, we can set it aside just for this special occasion.
 

We’re not so much worried about making ends meet, or even the whole job-hunt issue, as we are about insurance over the course of the next several weeks. I suppose if all else fails we could check out some sort of Oklahoma-helps-people-with-a-million-kids-and-no-money program. The worse that could happen is that we go into debt paying hospital bills and then simply pay them off when we get back on our feet. And we will get back on our feet. Not that we’re not on them already.

 
I almost want to compare the whole ordeal to Shadow. I would’ve kept her alive and going just as long as possible–but it would’ve been a painful prolonging of the inevitable. The situation sucks. It sucks bad. But in the long run, it’s for the best. We have a lot to be thankful for. And this? This little bump? It’s on the list.
 
Speaking of bumps–I had my ultrasound today (which–HA!–Caleb got to be there for!) and things with the baby appear to be just fine. The techs couldn’t really say much, but they did estimate him to be six pounds or so; I estimate he’s carrying about half of that in his private parts alone, because HOLY GOD they are huge. The little guy was also showing his strong arm again. I have deemed this to be his trademark move, and I can just imagine: "Mom, did you buy tickets to the show? THE GUN SHOW?" Yeah.
 
So, bottom line: I see no point whatsoever at this moment to worry about my son’s size; he’s not overly huge now and I don’t expect him to get that way just over the next few weeks. I’m not saying delivery will be a cake walk; but I’m fairly sure I can handle it. So we’ll just see what the doctor has to say about that at my next appointment.
 
Caleb is almost done painting his crib. I absolutely love the way it’s turning out–although I was skeptical when he chose the glossy-finish black spray paint. But it looks good. I’ve also motivated myself enough to buy some baby-safe laundry detergent. It remains to be seen when I will actually feel like washing all his little blankies and onesies.
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

7 responses to “FRICK…or not.

  • C.C.

    Toni, I’m so so sorry to hear this news.  Call or e-mail me if you need to talk!

  • ♥ Aimee

    well i am happy that although things are rought you guys are pulling through…i too am stuck in that same situation as you have read…but believe it or not there is i am getting from this entry that i have yet to really see about my upcoming time off…i will have less stress…and that might be healthy for the baby…i am going to work on that positive note and see where it leads me…thank you so much for sharing that with us…as otherwise i might still be sitting her wondering wha we are going to do…as i too just got our taxes done the other day….
     
    ♥~♥ :oD the shortest distance between two people is a smile… :oD ♥~♥

  • Michael

    I’m going to ditch my usual smartass mikey comment and hope that things are going good for you and the family….sorry to read about Shadow….
     
    luv,
    Mikey

  • Tiffany

    That’s good that he’s only about 6 lbs right now!  But, you are SO CUTE right now!  I know you’ve got to be feeling so uncomfortable… but it will be over before you know it!
     
    I’m sorry to hear about Caleb getting laid off!  That stinks and I’m there with you on the Insurance!  I went and talked to the Admissions lady the other day and found out that there are actually programs for people to help with the deductibles since we are far away from home.  Even though Britt is still coming back and forth that will be a HUGE help!  His company is small so their deductibles SUCK!  Oh the joys!  That’s what I get for staying at home… but it’s been SO worth it!
     
    Hugs to you girl!  Just hang in there!
     
    Tiff

  • Joell

    Girl!  Sorry about Caleb’s job.  It sucks.  BUT, kudos to YOU for looking on the bright side.  I am one of those Pollyanna types that believes everything happens for a reason, that there are no coincidences,  and that God is in control of every situation.  So, I am feeling the positivity right there with you!  Can’t wait to see what is down the road for you all…besides the joys of mothering a little boy. :-)   My husband was laid off from his job back in 2002.  It sucked.  But it all worked out for the best.
     
    THE GUN SHOW!  LOL.  My hubby says that same thing…often.  Ha ha.
     
    Thinking of you girl!  Hang in there and keep us posted!

  • Joell

    OH and if you need a funny…go here and watch Cletus Takes The Reel.  It will make you laugh out! 😉
    ~Joell

  • barnyardmama

    I’m so sorry to hear about Caleb’s job.  But, the chance that your hubby could be home in the weeks after the bambino comes?  Priceless.  I do think that these things can work out the way they’re supposed to even if it’s hard to see it in the moment. 
     
    I will add you to my list of nightly prayers and hopefully Caleb will find something that he enjoys a bit more. 
     
    When are you gonna have that baby?  I bet it’s any second now.  Good Luck!
     
    KM

You must be logged in to post a comment.

