Passing Time

 
Turns out yesterday wasn’t a good day to have a baby–and I’m fine with that. Call me crazy, but I really want this kid to be born on an even-numbered day. I just don’t like odd numbers. I asked the baby what he thought about May 8th. So far he doesn’t think too much of it.
 
I had a dream about a month ago–a wicked weird dream–that I went to this Tahiti-like island where all women went to give birth. They set you up in a little straw hut, and you got to labor and deliver painlessly right there in the ocean. The only thing was, that, when the big moment came, you automatically turned into this horrible animal, a sort of black lab/organgutan/sloth/flamingo…and you stayed that way forever, or at least until you were slaughtered by hunters, while your baby was whisked away to the United States to live a normal life, far away from his freak mother. In my dream, I was trying to fight the animalizing process before it happened–but the lady at the front desk informed me that my delivery date was May 10th, and I had better get ready. As unsettling as the dream was, I woke up feeling kind of cool, and that date is just stuck in my head. So we’ll see what happens over the weekend. I’ll either still be pregnant, or I’ll have a baby and turn into a monster.
 
I took a picture of the kid’s room last night–we had the crib set up and everything, but we thought it’d be a great idea to see what the walls would look like if they were orange–you know, just to make things a little harder on ourselves. We didn’t go nuts and paint everything–just a few key accent spaces–and I think it looks alright. The only problem is, now, Caleb wants a touch of blue somewhere in there for a subliminal University-of-Florida-effect. I’m not so sure about this idea, but as long as we’re not blatantly gatoring the place up, I guess I’ll be okay. I’m a big fan of the color-combo, just not the team.  Right now, the room’s sort of hodge-podge–there’s no real theme, but I think it looks stinkin’ cute anyway.
 
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

4 responses to “Passing Time

  • Joell

    "black lab/organgutan/sloth/flamingo"–Okay, now, I’m not even going to TRY to interperet THAT one! LOL…wicked weird FO SHO!!!
    Diego’s "room" looks great!  Caleb did an awesome job on the crib!!!  Take THAT, Pottery Barn!!
    May 10th sounds like a fabulous day to have a baby…good luck with that!

  • Joell

    P. S.  I tagged you in my blog…I figured since you were just sitting around waiting for Diego, it would give you something to do.  😉

  • Michael

    I have to say….the crib looks amazing….it has that cottage look to it….
     
    Go Diego Go…;)

  • ♥ Aimee

    well that is one hell of a dream…i know that i have been having some pretty crazy ones myself…in fact i woke up to thinking my water had broke…not that i know what it feels like…but i thought it had…
    ♥~♥ :oD the shortest distance between two people is a smile… :oD ♥~♥

You must be logged in to post a comment.

