My Brilliant Feat

 
I can probably skip saying that the last several days have been one big, busy, blur. Our baby is here, live and in person. I’m still trying to let it all sink in–maybe it was the drugs, maybe the whole no-sleeping thing, maybe it’s the fabulous food my father-in-law’s been cooking everyday. Life is one big honkin’ cloud of delirium right now, and I’m loving every minute of it.
 
The birth story in a nutshell: Wednesday morning, Labor and Delivery, 7:30 a.m. We came, we saw, we got IV’d. Still at 4 cm. I put up with about 2 more hours worth of solid-yet-somewhat-bearable contractions before politely ordering my epidural, and after that I was feelin’ fine and flying high. At 11:30 a.m. I had made no progress, and New Doctor came in and broke my water–at which point, I’m told, I proclaimed loudly and gleefully “SHE JUST MADE THAT WATER HER BITCH!” In less than an hour later, I was ready to push. New Doctor was once again summoned. 75 random people in scrubs came into the room. Caleb held my hand and out popped our purple little boy. He took a minute or two to get going–you know how they say you don’t breathe until you hear your baby cry? Not so. I was so drugged up–I let Caleb do all the worrying for me on that one. I was too busy getting a kick out of the utter numbness in my left leg. We all got to go home early–we were back at the house by 2:00 the very next afternoon. Merrick is here, he is healthy, and we’ve just been having a wonderful time getting to know him.
 
Looks: At this point it’s impossible to say that he looks like either me or his daddy. He looks nothing like Mia did when she was born–he’s got this light-brown hair and these blue, blue eyes and his skin looks a little on the fair side. This surprises me; I assumed he’d come out looking a little more Rico Suave and a little less Otis Lee (He’s the tough Cabbage Patch Kid, ya’ll). He’s got “school-yard bully” written all over his squashy little face. He’s absolutely adorable in this grumpy-cute kind of way. He just looks like…a boy, if that makes any sense.
 
Personality: Yeah, can’t really read too much into this yet, either. He’s a newborn. He eats a lot. Sleeps a lot. Poops a lot. I will say that from just a few minutes after he was born, he’s had his eyes wide open and his head up, just checking things out. He’s been giving me this pissed-off look and I assume it’s because of all the pokes and pricks and circumcision he’s had to endure over the course of his life. I feel really bad about that.
 
Sisters’ takes: Mia is absolutely in love with her baby brother. She wants to constantly hold him, or kiss him, or pet his head, or help with something–anything–relating to taking care of him. Cheyenne immediately took to him–she just beams whenever she holds him, which admittedly isn’t much because I’m a little bit of a baby-hog. But, so far, so good.
 
I can’t really think of much else to say except thanks again for all the comments and e-mails and phone calls. It’s going to be a low-key next few weeks for us.
 
I just love my new son.
 
I love him.
 
I love him.
 
I love him.
 
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

8 responses to “My Brilliant Feat

  • C.C.

    "Run, run, run, Otis Lee…."  Did you ever have the CPK cassette tape??
     
    One of my first thoughts upon viewing Merrick’s pics was that he’s a bruiser!!
     
    Soooooooo glad the McClung family is soooooooo happy!!!!!

  • barnyardmama

    Awesome.  You know, I didn’t even get to enjoy my epidural–what a crock, right?  Next time, things will be different.
     
    KM

  • Tiffany

    Hey girl.. he is so cute!  I’m so glad everything is going well and Mia is doing so good with him!  I worry about that will Baylee when we bring Blair home, but I think making trips to the hospital has helped with the transition!
     
    I hope you are getting as much rest as you can and healing!
     
    Big Hugs – Tiff

  • Bev

    Yes!!  It was a brilliant feat, for sure!!  He is b.e.a.-utiful!  I am glad to hear that Merrick’s big sisters are just loving being big sisters and that you are settling in (I call it NESTING…) with your little boy.  Thanks so much for sharing this with us Toni!  I wish for your little one and your family GREAT blessings and joy in the years to come!!
     
    Hugs to you, little Momma!!
     
    BBB

  • ♥ Aimee

    OMG i missed so much…congrats…. 
    ♥~♥ :oD the shortest distance between two people is a smile… :oD ♥~♥

  • Hilary

    I LOVE the name!  Merrick is so creative without being kooky!  I’m so happy for you (and I’ll be doing the same thing in December…!) :)

  • Michael

    Toni and family… CONGRATULATIONS!
     
    Love the name…sounds celtic…you can almost hear Sean Connery saying it…however I will probably always think of him as Diego…!;)  Glad to hear that you all are doing well…
     
    Mikey

  • Tiffany

    I LOVE the new pics… and you can sure tell who Caleb’s brother is… are they twins?  Is Mia still doing well?  I cannot believe how well Baylee is doing with Blair!  It amazes me!  She keeps saying that she loves having her baby sissy at home with her!  It makes me cry everytime!
     
    Hugs – Tiff
     
    PS – Are you healing well and getting around okay?

You must be logged in to post a comment.

