Whew!

 
Sitting around holding a baby is tough stuff, lemme tell ya. Let anyone in my house tell ya, cause that’s all we’ve been doing. Granted, sometimes I feed the baby, and that is also very hard. But the real challenge is diapering the kid. I always–always, always–get pooped on. And then peed on. And then promptly spit up on. And then possibly pooped on again. I’ve not yet learned to be quick about the whole business. I guess I tend to take it slow so as not to "mess anything up down there". I’ll get the hang of it…when he’s almost ready to potty-train. And I’m pretty sure I’ll still get peed on then, too.
 
The girls seem to be adjusting well. Mia has been busy wearing out our company. She’s having a little trouble understanding why mommy and daddy can’t give her undivided attention 24/7, but it’s more confusion than jealousy, at least for right now. Cheyenne just got out of school for the summer. It’s so sweet–she will ask to hold the baby only once she knows everyone else has had their turn. Caleb’s got the hang of keeping the house clean, cooking dinner, and mowing the yard. Plus, he’s quit smoking. And he diapers like a champ. I’m real proud. I sometimes feel he doesn’t get the credit he deserves because he’s a dad. If he were the mom, he’d have his own show.
 
Me, I’m okay. I didn’t have stitches or anything so the physical recovery of giving birth has been a cake walk. I’ve miraculously lost all the baby weight and then some. It almost feels like I was never even pregnant. (I’m sorry. I know I’m ruining it for all the new mothers out there, and I’m sorry.) I’ve been trying to give up coffee, but it’s just…so…hard.
 
Merrick is a saintly little baby–sure, he wakes up at night every few hours, but he eats and goes right back to sleep, so there’s not much there to complain about, especially considering that Cheyenne and Mia both were absolute monsters in that way. He has a healthy appetite–he gets right to it and doesn’t play around when it comes to meals. He spits up a lot, and I haven’t exactly figured out what it is I might be eating/drinking that is causing this. Maybe it’s nothing. I pray it’s not my coffee. I have to change his clothes and my clothes about 50 times a day, and I am never–never–completely clean for more than a few seconds at a time.
 
You guys all have a great week!
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

7 responses to “Whew!

  • barnyardmama

    Have you tried Mylecon drops or gripe water?  Both are supposed to be good for spit-up.  I sure he’ll grow out of it, though.
     
    I’m so glad you’re having a wonderful time  and that he’s not up break-dancing at two in the morning–Charlie had some confusion in that area and everyone paid for it.  Actually, I feel al little fatigued just writing about it.
     
    Enjoy this nice long weekend.
     
    KM

  • Tiffany

    Hey girl… I’m so glad everything is going good!  I have been lucky with the spit up thing… Baylee didn’t do it and Blair doesn’t either.  I take that back… Baylee did it for a little bit and they said she had acid reflux so they put her on medicine and it stopped… gas drops work good also.  (Hint-get the equate brand at Wal-mart… they are half the price of Mylacon drops) and work just the same.
     
    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!
     
    Hugs – Tiffany

  • K

    Congratulations Toni!!!  He is completely and totally adorable!!!  And you look FABULOUS!Happy Memorial day weekend to you and your newly expanded family!!!KC

  • C.C.

    Place a wipe or a washcloth over his "equipment" during diaper changes to reduce the risk of getting sprayed!!  :-)
     
    He is so cute!!!!!  Y’all did such a great job!!!!

  • ♥ Aimee

    i hope i feel as good as you do when i am done having my baby!!♥~♥ :oD the shortest distance between two people is a smile… :oD ♥~♥

  • Hilary

    yeah, i’m not looking forward to be being pooped on part.  I’m so happy to hear you’re recovering quickly and props to Caleb for quitting smoking.  Its so hard, but so worth it!  Congrats happy mommy! :)
     
    And yes, you are right!  I’m pregnant!  I just posted about it!

  • miranda

    So adorable! I just love looking at all the pictures of you’re little boy and the happy family. You look great! I can’t believe you lost the baby weight so fast. I’m so going to curse you about that someday. :P

You must be logged in to post a comment.

