Branching Out A Little

 
Well, I’ve semi-recovered from my hair cut-tastrophe, and this week has been back to almost normal, with the exception of, oh, CHURCH on Sunday. Yeah, that’s right. I went. What.
 
It wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be. We went with our neighbor-friends–something about traveling in groups makes trying new churches safer, I guess. The country-grandma brigade didn’t come whisk away my children to separate Sunday schools. The self-righteous-fat-ass-white-male club didn’t get all up in our faces upon arrival. There were 2 big movie screens–interesting. Shaking hands, bible verses, music–twangy at times. Smiling, country people–nobody came off as religiously calculating. The "invitation" followed promptly by the "collection". Just your typical contemporary Christian cheese–but I don’t think I need to be entertained into getting right with God. I just need to tone it down with the caution…and maybe the snark (but just a little). So, I might be able to handle a Baptist church after all.
 
Couldn’t hurt to try.
 
Merrick is doing all the fun baby stuff that babies do. He eats like nothing I’ve ever seen; I wonder if that’s just a taste of what’s to come. I try to keep my eyes peeled for women around town toting small babies for his newborn playing pleasure. Mia never really had a friend as an infant–I’ve never really had a friend with an infant (well, at least not locally or at the sametime as me.) so my quest is just as much for me as it is for him. I’m thinking about taking out an ad–Friendless Male, age 4 wks old. Enjoys sunsets, long walks around the block, peeing on mom, and spitting-up. Seeks similar-minded playmate, 0 to 12 wks old, with non-psychotic, non-smoking parents.
 
Couldn’t hurt to try.
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

6 responses to “Branching Out A Little

  • barnyardmama

    I made one friend with a baby the same age as Charlie.  But her house was big and perfectly clean and she talked about the Junior League a lot.  It just didn’t work out.  Truthfully, most of the peeps that I know and like with children also have jobs. 
     
    It’s been like two months and my hair is still looking disasterous.
     
    I could never, never go to Baptist church.  Just knowing that they don’t approve of drinking completely basically makes it a no-go for me.  I do like contemporary services and big screens.  I also like to sing loudly, so you probably wouldnt’ want to sit next to me in a church.
     
    KM

  • ♥ Aimee

    lol…where as i have no problem finding friends for my baby since there was 9 of us all prego at the same time… 
    ♥~♥ :oD the shortest distance between two people is a smile… :oD ♥~♥

  • miranda

    I think your "non-psychotic" requirement would count me out had I lived nearby. And had a newborn.

  • Bev

    Cut-tastrophe??  That’s a good term for that!!  So glad you have recovered.  We are looking for a church home right now too.  It is interesting to visit different churches.  And yea, it couldn’t hurt to try.  Perhaps there will be other young moms if you find a church you like.  Little Merrick should have him a bud!!  He’s such a cutie!!
     
    Have a great weekend, my friend!!
     
    BBB

  • ♥ Aimee

    too bad you didn’t live closer…there was 9 of us all prego at the same time…3 have already had thier babies…you could have joined our club…ha ha ha… 
    ♥~♥ :oD the shortest distance between two people is a smile… :oD ♥~♥

  • miranda

    I think your hair looks pretty good. Maybe a little mom-ish, but definitely young mom.I was looking at those pics and how do you ever take Mia seriously when she’s mad if that’s the face she makes??!! Too cute.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

