Pretty Much All About Mia

 
We just made it through the first hour of the first day of school; bear with me because I’m emotional right now. Both Mia and Cheyenne got up this morning without a problem. They got dressed and ate breakfast and didn’t seem too terribly sleepy. Mia was, I think, mostly excited with a side of nervous. She had a moment as I was putting her clothes on–(a pink dress which she picked out–wow! I know, right?)–where she got kind of quiet and said to me "I’m going to miss you and daddy."
 
Sigh.
 
Cheyenne had herself all taken care of and she refused to be driven to school–she caught the bus, and Caleb, Merrick, Mia and I took off in the car. We waited in a mile-long line of cars, parked, and then walked Mia up to the building. She went right in without a problem and was especially happy when her teacher gave her a necklace with her name on it. All the kids were lined up in the front hallway, so Mia found herself a spot next to a little girl. She waved us good-bye with a smile. Awesome.
 
And then, the crying. Not Mia, but about 100 other kids. Bawling out of control. Mia stopped smiling so hard. The little girl beside her started to sob. Mia frowned. A kid bolted back out the door toward her mother. Mia looked worried. Parents started crying. Mia looked freaked.
 
I didn’t get to see what happened next because the preschool teachers closed the doors. Caleb and I left.
 
We’ll pick her up in exactly one hour and twenty-three minutes.
 
It’s hard to believe she’s old enough to be going off to school. Her birthday was yesterday–4. 4 years old. Already. We took her to the arcade, where, with our powers combined, we won over 1000 tickets that ultimately went towards a bunch of cheap crap from Taiwan. We came home and opened a few presents, including her kick-ass new bike. Cheyenne and her friend Kelcey helped decorate the entire house with streamers and balloons. Our neighbor-friends came over a few hours later for some cake and ice-cream, and their gift to Mia was none other than…AQUA GLOBES! along with some lovely red flowers on which to test them. I honestly couldn’t believe that Shawna managed to find those things. She said she also spotted MIGHTY PUTTY but decided against it. Thank you, Jesus.
 
Mia also made off with a Doodle Bear that came with an Airbrush tool (sweet!), clothes, Barbie Mariposa–the doll and the movie– a Littlest Pet Shop Playhouse with about a million tiny pieces to it, a tinkerbell doll with tinkerbell paraphenalia, coloring books, crayons, playdough, and generally just a bunch of stuff that she can make some pretty terrific messes with. All in all, it was a good day for her.
 
I can’t get over how old Mia–hell, both of the girls–hell, all my kids–are getting. I mean, didn’t I have kids so that I could HAVE KIDS? Who told them to grow up? Cheyenne’s in freaking 7th grade. She wouldn’t hang out with me if her life depended on it. Pretty soon Mia will have all these new little friends. Mommy and Daddy won’t be her world anymore. And Merrick–well, before you know it he’ll be eating solid food. And that’s just heartbreaking.
 
Now if you’ll excuse me, I think I’ll go check out that Littlest Pet Shop Playhouse before Mia comes back from school.
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

5 responses to “Pretty Much All About Mia

  • miranda

    I’m only 13 weeks along and I’m right there with you about the growing up so fast. I just the other day looked at Geoff and was like, "Aww, remember when Squirtle was just the size of a blueberry?!?"He kinda laughed, rolled his eyes and was like, "Whatever, crazy pregnant woman…" and then went to make me a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. He’s a good little husband like that.Can’t wait to hear Cheyenne and Mia’s recap of the first day of school! (And what’s with school starting so early these days??)

  • Joell

    Mia in a pink dress…what is the world coming to??
     
    The growing up thing is frightening me as well…with a 13 yr old and a 10 year old….YIKES. 
     
    Hope the girls had awesome first days at school!! :-)

  • barnyardmama

    I’d like to say I understand, but I don’t.  We fight tooth and nail for every milestone and I love them all.  What can I say?  I’m a freak.
     
    KM

  • Bev

    Tell Mia I am jealous that SHE got Aqua Globes!  Dang!!  Those look cool!  What a haul she made, and isn’t that what children’s birthdays are all about?  So, did the cake really make everyone sick?? 
     
    I hope that the first day of school went swimmingly well and that you and Caleb managed with just one child left at home.
     
    Hugs!
     
    BBB

  • Joell

    ORANGE IS BACK!! YEAH.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

