The Toni Family Rundown

 
Mia’s soccer game, Saturday morning. She came. She saw. She finally got her uniform (wrong shade of pink). She scored the first goal. And she had a total blast. I’m still not happy with her coach, who seems way more interested in having good-looking soccer players than skilled ones, but hey. The girls did look cute, as evidenced by the pictures I’ll be putting up later.
 
We had some surprise company over the weekend. Caleb’s brothers flew in Saturday afternoon. After spending a couple hours playing with the dogs’ shock collars and the electric fence, we had dinner and watched Talledega Nights. The next morning they all headed down to Texas for their grandmother’s funeral. They should be back tonight.
 
Cheyenne has raised $190.00 so far for Multiple Sclerosis. I don’t know what percent of her $300.00 goal that is, but it’s up there, and I’m proud of her. I’m proud of all our friends and family, too. They all rock way more than I thought they did.
 
We have a little over a week until Merrick’s operation. I’m getting anxious as hell. I’m worried I won’t get some paperwork turned in on time. I’m worried the blood donation will get all botched up and my son will need a transfusion and they’ll have to use pig’s blood or something. I’m worried he’ll catch a cold and they’ll have to postpone surgery for another 3 months. I’m worried he’ll starve before surgery. I’m worried he’ll scream when they take him. I’m worried about them cutting open my son’s skull with heavy machinery. I’m worried the surgery will take 5 hours. I’m worried he won’t do well. I’m worried about swelling and infection. I’m worried I won’t be able to take care of his stitches. I’m worried that he’ll somehow jab himself in the brain once it’s all said and done. I’m worried Caleb won’t be able to handle the whole thing. And I’m worried I’ll lose it completely before we even start.
 
I have so much respect and admiration for the parents whose kids need multiple operations. I know I never want us to go through this again.
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

6 responses to “The Toni Family Rundown

  • miranda

    I’m sorry I don’t really have any comforting advice to give you, Toni, seeing as this whole motherhood thing has me constantly worried. I will say though, that I think you know as a mother that there isn’t anything you wont do for your kids, as scary as it may be at times. You will find a way to get through it because your son is counting on you and when it is time you wont give it a second thought. It will be hard, yes, but you will absolutely get through it beautifully.That’s one thing I’m not worried even a little about.

  • Bev

    I think anyone in your shoes would be anxious about the surgery.  Just know that your blog buds will be with you in spriit and thoughts and holding you close in prayer, that all goes perfectly,  and that every person charged with Merrick’s care will be blessed with great skill and caring for your precious boy.  I send you a great big virtual hug, my friend!
     
    BBB

  • barnyardmama

    YOU CAN DO THIS.  Hands down, worst moments are right before they take them for surgery.  That made me cry, but mostly because he just seemed so small.  Will they be giving him Ativan beforehand?  Every hospital has a different take on that, but I’m in favor of it.  Is it too late to ask for it?  It calms them down, makes them silly, and pretty much gaurantees that they won’t freak out when the techs take him away.   Dont’ worry about the blood–they’re just hitting you up for a donation while you’re vulnerable and willing to give.  Charlie got blood at least once and not one member of my family donated.  If it was pig’s blood then it’s working just fine.  Don’t worry too much about the time either.  I would rather a long, drawn-out, anally done procedure then a slap-dash one.  We are talking about brain surgeons–they take their work pretty seriously.  Bring a laptop or a portable DVD player or book or whatever you need to keep your mind off of things.  As for doing well, infection, and all that. . .all I can say is pray and follow instructions.  They’ll probably load him up with heavy-duty antibiotics (I know they did Charlie).  I’m sure he’ll be a swollen mess, but those things pass quickly. 
     
    Prayers for you guys and for Merrick–he’s getting more and more handsome every time I see a new picture!
     
    PS: Yay for your girls as well.  I don’t think I’ve ever scored a soccer goal, and Cheyenne has got to be proud of all the money she raised.
     
    KM

  • Anna

    I don’t know what I would have done in your situation, this is so hard… I hope (no, I KNOW) everything will be fine and you guys will get through it!!! Good luck with everything!! :)))

  • Joell

    Glad Mia had fun with the soccer.  And she rocks for scoring the first goal!
     
    Girl, I would be worried about you if you weren’t anxious as hell!  Jacob had tubes in his ears 4 times.  One of those times they took his adenoids too, but anyway…I realize we’re talking oranges and apples here as far as seriousness of surgery goes, BUT, the first time he had the surgery, he had just turned 2.  Even though everyone was incredibly kind and wonderful with Jacob and yes, he cried when they took him, I was a COMPLETE wreck.  It is something you can’t be with him for.  Something you can’t control.  That said, YOU will be okay.  You can handle whatever comes your way because you are Merrick’s mama, and that’s what mamas do.  HE will be okay.  You have experienced people taking care of your son.  It is going to be okay.  Just hang in there.  Deep breaths!!
     
    Sending you some big hugs and calm vibes!!!  I’m remembering all of you in my prayers.    

  • miranda

    Ok, no more waiting. Pics are up!The suspense was killing you, right? :p

You must be logged in to post a comment.

