A Snippet of Bad News

 
Mia’s sick. Damnit. Damnit all to hell.
 
She woke up screaming with a fever of 101.3 last night, straight out of nowhere. We put her a cool bath, gave her some Tylenol, and sent her back to bed. It was a long night–today she’s feeling better. Her temperature is down to 99.whatever and I have her back in her room watching movies on the portable DVD player. I go in there only to throw food at her while I hold my breath and try not to touch anything.
 
See, Merrick CANNOT get sick. He can’t get a slight fever, he can’t cough, he can’t even look like he’s thinking about coming down with something–or else his surgery will be postponed for another 3 long months, and we just can’t be having all that.
 
I’ve never realized how hard it truly is to keep little kids healthy for any significant length of time. They’re always pukey, or snotty, or rotten from some kind of virus or another. The one week where I need everyone to be as fit as a fiddle–THE ONE WEEK–and Mia comes down with a crud so fierce it’s threatening to put us all down for the count…but I should’ve known.
 
We’ve given Caleb’s blood. We’ve set up Merrick’s pre-op appointment and we’ve spoken with the neurosurgeon again about every possible thing we need to know. We’re all set–now we’re on pins and needles and we’re bathing in Germ-X every 10 seconds just so we can make it through the next 5 days.
 
UUUUGGGGGGGHHHHHH!!!
 
(Cue violinist.)
 
My mom will be flying in Sunday. The blood bank won’t touch me because apparently all the time I spent living in Italy gave me Mad Cow disease. (That would explain a lot.) I’ve been elected homeroom representative for Mia’s Pre-K class. I missed a PTA meeting last night. Cheyenne’s got a Book-Club field trip to the Library and Mia’s got a soccer game tomorrow. My house is covered in a 6-inch layer of dirty dog hair and the Vanilla Breeze Glade Plug-Ins I bought are not doing their job. I haven’t washed my hair in 3 days and I haven’t shaved my legs since God knows when. Merrick wants my undivided attention every hour of everyday and frankly I just don’t know if I’m going to survive the next couple weeks.
 
(Deep Cleansing Breath.)
 
P.S. Cheyenne has raised so much money for Multiple Sclerosis. She’s had to up her goal 3 times already and it looks like she’ll have to do it again, AND she still has 2 weeks until the walk. There’s your snippet of good news for today.
 
P.P.S. A neato word is tintinnabulation (tin-tih-nab-yuh-LAY-shuhn). It means a tinkling sound, as of a bell or bells. The first thing that came to mind was the sound of someone going pee-pee in the potty. But that’s just me.
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

3 responses to “A Snippet of Bad News

  • Georgia

    Hi Toni!  New blogger, long time reader…I love your  blog!  I am *so* impressed with what Cheyenne is doing.  What a sweet girl!  Poor Mia…I hope she gets well soon ~ and I hope the rest of your crew (especially the baby) stays healthy and germ-free!  Best of luck to you with Merrick’s surgery.  You have lots of people who will be thinking about you and praying for you.
     
    Be great,
    j

  • Unknown

    Could your little boy be any  more adorable and precious – I just want to pinch his sweet little cheeks and shower him with raspberries!  He looks so much more like you than I remember Mia did.   I hope Mia feels better asap.  You all will have to lay low this weekend – don’t be roaming off to some germ-fest like Chuck-E-Cheese!  Just thinking of you… hugs!

  • Joell

    Dang dang dang.  UGH.  I hate that Mia is sick.  Hate it for her, hate it for all of you!!  I’m sorry I know this couldn’t have come at a more inconvenient time.  You’ll just have to wait and see.  I am believing that Merrick will stay un-germy and the surgery will go off as planned without a hitch and you will all me able to move on with your lives.  Praying for you girl.  Continue with the deep cleansing breaths…they’re not just for childbirth ya know.
    Cheyenne is such a cool kid.  Good for her!
     
     

You must be logged in to post a comment.

