I’m Bragging

 
My kids are freaking cute. They are most likely cuter than your kids. I’m sorry. That’s just the way it is.
 
Let me back this up with solid evidence. (As if my pictures weren’t enough.) Yesterday, after fighting off a migraine and hobbling around on my defective foot all day long, Mia asks, "Mom, why are you sad?"
 
And so I say, "Because I just am. I’m hurt. I’m tired."
Says Mia, "I know what can cheer you up." And so she comforts me with a little song. After that, she offers a bit of advice. And I quote:
 
"You know how come I stay so happy all the time? Because I carry around a little piece of the sun in my heart, with me everywhere, all the time. You have a piece of the sun in your heart, too. You just gotta get it out and put it on your face, like this, see? It turns into a smile! You try it with me, Mommy."
 
She didn’t get it from me, or her dad, or a book. The cutest kids in the world are automatically programmed to say the cutest things in the world. That’s just the way it is.
 
Poor Merrick is suffering from what I belive to be The Allergies From Hell. He’s got a scratchy little voice and a wicked bad runny nose. He can barely breathe at night. But every morning, with snot stretched from one ear to the other, he lays in his crib, cooing like nobody’s business. And when he sees me, he grins his biggest grin and rolls over and over like a puppy, thus confirming his World’s Cutest-yet-Snottiest Baby status.
 
I’ll make some enemies by saying this, but I just don’t get people who don’t want kids. No, scratch that. Those people know not what they say. I don’t get the people who have one kid but don’t want any more. I. Just. Don’t. Understand. If money were no object I’d never stop. I’d reproduce til my insides fell out. Scary, I know. And I don’t think the world could handle that much adorable.
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

7 responses to “I’m Bragging

  • Tiffany

    That is FREAKING cute!  Oh, the joys of kids… I love them and love what they say even more!
     
    Blair isn’t sitting up on her own.  With the help of her Bumbo seat and Excersaucer she can do it.  I think she is restricted because of her stomach muscles just not being there.  At least not over her Omphalocele.  She does have muscle on the sides that she uses and it’s getting stronger.  But, then again Baylee didn’t sit up on her own until she was around 7 – 7 1/2 months old.  But, she was also preemie! 
     
    I would have more kids too if my cervix allowed me to.  I’m just not a good house for them!  :)
     
    Big Hugs – Tiffany

  • miranda

    Yep, pretty cute indeed! You’re making this waiting another few months a whole lot harder for me, thankyouverymuch. :)

  • Bev

    That is absolutely the sweetest thing that Mia did for you!!  You definitely do have three beautiful children and are so blessed.  I hope your foot is better and that little Merrick is doing better with his allergies.  Poor little fella!
     
    Hugs!
     
    BBB

  • l

    Little girls have a way of always seeing the sunshine.  Not only are children adorable, but I think it’s God’s way of making us take the time to enjoy life.

  • miranda

    Big announcement over at my blog… :)

  • Joell

    Dang girl, sorry you hurt your foot…but it was in the name of love and all, and well, that’s more important. 
    And you do have incredibly adorable children.  No lie.  But I must say that mine are unbelievably cute as well.  Biased, you know.  But Mia and her sunshine…well that does just about beat all.
    :-D
     

  • barnyardmama

    You see, I don’t understand the having kids till my insides fall out thing.  I love kids and think they’re so awesome, but I love sleep too.  If only I could give birth to six-month olds.  That, I could maybe do a lot.
     
    KM

You must be logged in to post a comment.

