Typing Like I Have the Time

 
So. Halloween week. Never before has it been so busy–that whole having a million kids thing I mentioned the other day? I take it back. A million kids means a million activities. Coincidentally, so does having just three kids–a million activities, a million field trips, a million baked goods for a million carnivals, etc. etc. etc. You get my point. Surely I’m not the first woman to have accidentally volunteered to bake and craft and coordinate at different events on the same day, right? A better woman could probably find a way to make it fly. Me? My twelve year old runs behind me all day closing doors I leave wide open, shutting off the water that’s about to overflow the sink, and just generally making sure I don’t set the house on fire.
 
Yesterday after a girly-doctor’s appointment, an hour of phone calls from the PTA, a worry-filled bill-paying session, and a trip to the library and grocery store with a pink-eyed Mia and an ever-snotty Merrick, I cracked a little.
 
"You want baked goods? I’m having trouble believing I signed up for that. Can’t I just unwrap a bunch of pre-made Rice Krispy Treats? Wait–do I even have to unwrap them? Can I just give you cash instead?"
 
"Mia I swear if you rub your eye again, it’s going to fall out. And don’t go near your brother!"
 
"For Pete’s sakes, Merrick, it’s just mashed carrots! Eat them! Eat! Man up, will you?"
 
Yes. I told my six-month old to man up.
 
And the worst thing about the whole day was that we didn’t even wave to the Wal-Mart man. Just straight up dissed him and his stickers and his harmonica. I think we broke his heart. The guilt kept me up last night.
 
I think I’ve got a handle on today. Mia’s already informed me that she’s okay with going to the doctor. (Says she: "I’m into the doctor. So into it. I’m ready to let him check out my eye.") Merrick…doesn’t care what we do. I’m going to spray paint boxes, make some brains and eyes, brush up on my face-painting skillz, carve a pumpkin…
 
I might even think about baking those Rice Krispy Treats. And if I do, I’m bringing some to the Wal-Mart man.
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

5 responses to “Typing Like I Have the Time

  • Tiffany

    Girl… you are a busy woman!  Wow!  :)  We still have to carve the pumpkins.  I’m thinking about doing that sometime today I guess!
     
    Yes, it was all over the World News that I was watching.  And, it’s on You Tube!  Just type in ‘Puppycide in Oklahoma’ and it will come up!  Don’t let the kids watch it though because it shows everything!
     
    I’m excited about St. Louis and what they will say and do differently than AR Children’s.  I even called OK Children’s Hospital, but they still haven’t called me back.  So, I think we will just stick with St. Louis for now.
     
    Big Hugs – Tiff

  • miranda

    I know it’s only a matter of time before I regret saying this, but I CAN NOT wait for all that stuff!Side note, I went to Walmart for the first time in over a year a few weeks ago and I got about 20 feet into the store before I turned around and walked right back out. Just could not deal. So many people. People who like to just stop and park their carts wherever they feel like it. People that talk really loudly. People that forget something and just turn their cart around while smacking into you. People who don’t cover their mouths when they cough. I COULD NOT DEAL. I started to feel like I was going to hyperventilate and pass out. So I did what any normal PG person would do. I went home and had pie.

  • barnyardmama

    You know, I know how you feel.  These holidays get you all jazzed and then they slam you with a bunch of work.  Ack.
     
    KM

  • Joell

    Okay, we’ve all had days like that where we are on the edge and saying crazy things to our kids…and to ourselves.  LOL.  I think I told Jacob recently to stop feeling sorry for himself.  I instantly felt bad.  I have been known to tell both my kids to suck it up and get on with their lives.  Yes, sometimes these things just tumble out of our mouths.
     
    Hope Mia survived her "so into it" trip to the doc. 
    We are still piecing costumes together around here…gotta go to goodwill to find a trench coat and wig for my little Mad-Eye Moody.  Hermione’s ready to go though. 
     
    Later chick!!
     

You must be logged in to post a comment.

