Feeling the Pinch

 
It’s Saturday. The sun is shining, the wind is blowing. The girls, and the boy, and I are hanging out in the house trying to stay warm while Caleb works at his "second" job (hitting up car dealerships across Oklahoma for accounts…or something like that). I talked to my mom this morning and it seems we’re not the only ones freaking out about money and getting the bills paid. I don’t really like to talk about it, but man. These days I can’t think about anything else. Our "good" car (The Alero as opposed to the Saturn) needs fixing, the heat in our house is not working like it should, and we get a $100 doctor’s bill in the mail everyday. Cheyenne needs new glasses. All the kids need new shoes and winter clothes. The dogs need to go to the vet.  AAAAARRRGGGGG! It’s always something. Always. And I don’t even want to get into Christmas issues. Caleb and I are constantly at each other’s throats–little things set us off, but we both know what the real issue is.
 
It helps to remember how fortunate we truly are. Caleb finally has a job; I am so grateful for that. The cost of living here is one of the lowest in the country. We’ve never led an extravagant lifestyle, so it’s not like we feel like we’re missing out. We are relatively healthy. And you know what? We’re not alone. This is happening to everybody, all over the place. (some more than others, but hey.) Our friends and our family are so understanding and supportive. My father-in-law gave us a Thanksgiving fund. Inka had that garage sale to help us with medical bills. One day I hope we’re in a position to repay the favor or help out someone else in need. For the record, everyone we know and love is officially invited to live with us on our future commune, help us grow food, raise chickens, ride bikes and do insane things with compost.
 
Back to the heat thing–winter is seriously jacking up our plans to keep Merrick in the closet for the next 2 years. His "room" is the coldest place in the house. At night, when I go to pick him up, his little hands are ice-cold. In fact I think that’s what’s waking him up in the first place. So, since Mia is usually in our bed anyway (she sneaks in around 2:00 a.m. without fail) I’ve been taking little Merrick to her room on the other side of the house, and laying down with him in her warm bed. He’s zonked back out in no time. My idea? Make the girls share a room and move Merrick to Mia’s room. It’s not an arrangement Cheyenne would be thrilled about, but I think that’s where things are headed. Ah, well. They’ll just be very close when they grow up, and that’s something money can’t buy. And that’s just all there is to it.
 
Found out those car robbers stole a bunch of guns out of this one guy’s truck. Brilliant. This doesn’t neccessarily make sleeping at night any easier, but it has made us less complacent and we’ve been locking every door and turning on our lights. I’d teach our dogs to "Kill!" but I’d probably regret it since I’m pretty sure they hate me and would take me out if they had the chance.
 
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

2 responses to “Feeling the Pinch

  • Bev

    I am hearing so many more people here in Oklahoma who are saying the same things you are.  It seems the downturn is just beginning to hit here, while it has been very apparent other places.  Now is the time we ALL have to pull together and help each other.  It is when we will see what we are made of.  Hopefully, things are going to improve.  We just have to take things one day at a time.
     
    Awww!!  Poor little Merrick waking up cold!  That’s the pits.  My sister (the middle one) and I had to share a room.  She hated it and hated me.  Could Merrick and Mia share a room??  She seems to love her little bro.  It’s just a thought.  Whatever you end up doing, they will all adjust I am sure.
     
    Have a great week, and hang in there, my friend!
     
    BBB

  • Joell

    I feel you girl.  Here’s hoping that somehow things start looking up soon.
     
    Scary about your neighborhood car robbers.  They probably pawned those guns and made em some money.
     
    Please let me know when you get that commune up and running.  For reals. 
     
    Hang in there chick.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

