The Doll House Predicament

Okay, so the doll house idea might not fly like I want it to this year. Did you know for big honkin’ plastic doll house you will pay a minimum of $60.00? And that’s just for the house–furniture not included! You’ll shell out $149.00 if you want the whole enchilada–the Grand Mega–and I for one, would rather just go ahead and build my own, thankyouverymuch. Curse you, Loving Family!
 
I’ve been thinking about doing our Christmas cards and I’ve decided we might have to skip the whole family update section, which I usually only reserve for those we never talk to anyway. 2008 has been The Year The Shit Hit The Fan, in a big way, for us. Dog dying, Caleb getting laid off, Merrick being born, Merrick having craniosynostosis, Caleb’s grandma dying, Caleb being unemployed, Merrick having Craniosynostosis surgery, Caleb starting a new job…I think our nerves are shot. Permanently.
 
Thank God for Christmas. I’m determined to get the decorations down from the attic today and we’ll chop down a tree and have it up by Sunday if it kills me.
 
Still debating on what to do about the kids’ bedrooms. I initially thought I’d put Cheyenne and Mia together–for several reasons. 1) Whoever shares a room will share the big room, which is further away from our room than the little one. This is not neccessarily convienent in terms of me getting up to check on the baby in the middle of the night. 2) Merrick needs complete and utter quiet to sleep. Mia loves to make noise at all times. 3) Mia has a billions small toys. Merrick likes to put things in his mouth. Need I say more?
 
Despite those reasons, I’m thinking of letting Cheyenne just go ahead and take over the small room. Besides, I’ve got a lot more decorating ideas for a Mia/Merrick room than I do a Cheyenne/Mia room. Merrick will finally get out of the closet–and into a room where he can play with Barbies and doll houses anytime.
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

4 responses to “The Doll House Predicament

  • James

    wow. he’s going to have it made; barbies and doll houses!!

  • barnyardmama

    I think I love the idea of a Mia/Merrick room. Cheyenne is getting to that age where she might kill Mia if she can’t shut the door on her. If it doesn’t work out then you can always make changes. My dad bought me a doll house kit when I was some age and we never put it together. Sad.

  • miranda

    No tree yet, but the rest of the decorations are out."We elves try to stick to the four main food groups: candy, candy canes, candy corns and syrup. "

  • Joell

    What you have are some dilemmas my friend! I was thinking on skipping the whole family update just because I’m feeling lazy this year. Hopefully we’ll get us a tree this weekend. I have gone into the garage and looked at the green rubbermaid bins which contain all my Christmas clutter, but haven’t made a lot of progress in that direction. You could probably make a beautiful doll house for Mia, you being all artsy-craftsy and whatnot!! Go for it.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

