Friday

I shouldn’t write about it, but this past week, Merrick has not been waking me up at night. I can’t say whether or not he’s been sleeping, though; the only reason I’m feeling so rested is that I’ve been downing a glass of wine (or 2) before bed and unplugging the baby monitor.
 
And you know what? He hasn’t thrown himself over the side of the crib, or choked on his own vomit, or suffocated under his teddy bear. He wakes up smiling instead of screaming every morning, and he indulges in a long nap in the afternoons. He must be logging in 12 to 15 hours worth of sleep every day.  So, even though it goes against every motherly instinct I have, completely ignoring my kid at night is really working for me–for both of us.
 
We’re trying to cut off our house phone since we don’t really use it. But to have our internet connection switched over to Caleb’s office phone line, we’ll be charged a $70 fee–thus costing us even more money than 2 months’ worth of phone bills–all of this just to save us a mere $31 a month. Worth it? Maybe only after May, at which time we might be completely able to afford the house line anyway. Stupid phone company.
 
I’ve been thinking about tattoos. My sister has one of a key on her wrist–her boyfriend has a heart with a lock with it on his chest (all together now: "Awwww." Gag me). Caleb doesn’t have any tattoos. At one time we thought we’d get matching dice tattoos if we were ever to take a trip to Vegas, but that seemed kind of lame. Then we thought maybe shamrocks on our hands would look cool if we went to Ireland together…but that was before I read up on prison tattoos and found that shamrocks stand for white supremacy in certain prison circles, and that is one tattoo that I, for one, would not want, should I wind up in prison one day. So. A red, white and blue skull on my calf? A big, honkin’ bloody rose wrapped around the sword of truth on my back? A couple teardrops on my cheek? A cheeseburger on my ass? Suggestions? Thoughts?
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

8 responses to “Friday

  • Bev

    Perhaps your letting Merrick "do his thing" at night is best for both of you! It’s working!! Woohooo!! I have thought seriously about a tattoo a couple of times and watched them being done when first hubby and I went to Sturgis on our Harley. However, I am NOT into pain. I am a WUSS!! There will be no tats on this body.Love the new pics!! Have a marvy weekend girl!Bev

  • Bev

    Perhaps your letting Merrick "do his thing" at night is best for both of you! It’s working!! Woohooo!! I have thought seriously about a tattoo a couple of times and watched them being done when first hubby and I went to Sturgis on our Harley. However, I am NOT into pain. I am a WUSS!! There will be no tats on this body.Love the new pics!! Have a marvy weekend girl!Bev

  • Unknown

    sweet! I’m so glad that little man is letting Mama get her sleep on!!! You go, sweetie. Go Mama, Go Mama, GO! Cheyenne gets more beautiful with every picture you post. Look out. I’m terrified of needles; no tattoo ideas. Although… I am thinking along the lines of permanent makeup – the thought of not having to every apply eyeliner again is somewhat appealing. But then there’s the needle issue… That phone / internet thing STINKS! We have the same problem – and then like an idiot, we wrapped our cable up into the same discount bundle and now we’re REALLY screwed. They’ve got me by the knockers for life that damn Comcast. Hugs! C.

  • Unknown

    PS – does the Oklahoma water or the water where you are living not have fluoride? I just found out that a lot of our friends that live in Jax Beach have water filters, and it filters out the fluoride & so then their kids end up more cavity prone. Do you guys have some sort of filter at the house? Just a thought… Caleigh had a dentist apptmt on Thursday and she actually announced she wants to be a teeth-artist after the experience. I don’t know if she wants to be the girl that paint the fluoride treatment on the teeth, or if she wants to just paint pictures of teeth. We’re cavity free, for now – knock on wood… I have a feeling little Ev will be a different story when the time comes.

  • Tiffany

    I’m so glad you figured something out that will work for you guys at night. Even if he’s waking up and fussing a little it’s not waking Mia up and you are able to rest. I guess they have to learn to sooth themselves back to sleep!I have 3 tattoos… I really wish I didn’t have any! I don’t know why, but I guess it was a phase I went through from 18-22 when I was getting them. Something about the pain! :) Anyway… My friend’s husband got a cool tattoo on his arm… part of it is a sun and it has all of their (his wife and kids) initials in it, but hidden so he has to kind of point it out. I always thought about getting something for Baylee and Blair… who knows! On the internet thing… we have AT&T and it doesn’t require us to have a home phone line. It might be something to check out! And, for the internet it’s 23.99/month and because it’s less than 25 they don’t charge any taxes or fee’s on it! I have my laptop with a wireless router and it works great… fast!Hugs – Tiff

  • Joell

    A mama needs her sleep and if ignoring the screaming baby allows a mama to do that, then that is what the mama must do…wine included. LOL. My hubby wants us to eliminate our land line altogether. I haven’t quite jumped on board with with that just yet. We have the internet/cable combo. The cost is pretty ridiculous. I just haven’t gotten around to doing anything different.Now, as for the tats, I do not have any myself, but my hubby thinks they are pretty hot and keeps telling me I should get one. It’s kinda like the same thing when I birthed those babies for him…I endure all the pain and he gets all the joy out of it. I think not.

  • Georgia

    CHEERS to Merrick for sleeping through the night!! (or at least not waking his mama…;) Good on you. Mine actually *did* use to throw themselves over the sides of their cribs, not to mention they woke up screaming bloody murder every night until they were almost 2…ugh… Those were the days! I happen to be a fan of tatoos myself. Not obnoxious ones, but simple, meaningful ones. I got my first a year and a half ago. It’s tiny and an "invite only" sort of tatoo. I didn’t want to have something that could be seen by everyone. Wanting another ~ something signifying my kiddos. Let us know if you decide on one! Oh, but please just make sure it isn’t FL/FL State-related..;) KIDDING! Be great,j

  • Diego

    everithing is fine

You must be logged in to post a comment.

