Pnemonia–the Extremely Edited Version.

Cheyenne and I are going to attempt a MS Walk Saturday at the Oklahoma City Zoo. She needs her service hours for NJHS; plus it’s catered by Starbucks and Krispy Kreme. I can’t wait to go; Merrick has never been to the Zoo, and this zoo? Is awesome. I think it’s, like, the #3 Family Zoo in the United States. Or at least it was 3 years ago. Plus, you know, multiple sclerosis is cool too. I mean, not cool, but…
 
Mia has a t-ball game tonight; so far in the season every other one has been cancelled or rescheduled, so this will be her first game. I think she’ll get excited only when she puts on her uniform and actually walks out on the field. Until then, I don’t know that she believes it’s really going to happen.
 
I’m getting the kids on WIC. At first I wasn’t sure if we would qualify; I figured I’d give it a shot but I wasn’t hopeful. The health department lady approved us so fast it wasn’t even funny. Yippee! We’re poor! Free milk and peanut butter for everyone! Seriously, though? Every little bit helps. We’ve also trimmed our Direct TV package, and boy, is that ever depressing. Can’t watch Animal Planet, Discovery Health, TLC or Comedy Central. The package we switched to says we have over 50 channels; what we didn’t realize is that 20 of them are infomercial channels. Or QVC. Or Gemstone channels. It’s crap, I tell you. Crap. But I guess if I’m actually upset about it, then I was watching too much TV to begin with. So there you go.
 
HMMM, what else, what else is going on around here? Oh yeah. I HAVE PNEMONIA. It hit me pretty hard Tuesday morning; I had a fever and aches and pains and chills and a headache–which all would have been bearable–except for the horrible stabbing pain I felt in my right lung everytime I took a breath. That night it hurt so bad that I couldn’t even move with out crying out. I’ve never known such pain. It even trumphed childbirth. I gave it a 10. A screaming, frowny face. So the next morning I hauled my ass to the doctor; one swab up my nose and 2 chest X-rays later, they had my diagnosis. I was surprised; I didn’t know you could get pnemonia all the sudden. Turns out, you can’t. The doctor said I’ve probably had it for about 3 weeks.
 
 Anyway. I’m sick, but I’m actually feeling a lot better today than I did the past 2 days. I’m all jacked up on antibiotics and motrin 800, but it’s a good feeling.
 
After my appointment, I immediately scheduled a check-up for Merrick, who has been snotty and coughy for the past few weeks. Caleb is taking him right now; I feel pretty sure he’s fine, and that he’s just got allergies, or at the very worse, a bad cold…but we’ll see. I’m waiting for one of the other kids to drop out next.
 
Caleb has been wonderful. He took off from work and he’s handled everything. I feel like I’ve abandoned him–I’ve never been this sick before, and he knew it. And he really stepped up and played Mr. Mom and Mr. Dad and Mr. Nurse. I  knew he’d be able to, and I knew he’d probably be better at it than I normally am. And he was…but by the end of the day even he was losing his patience with the kids. And that was refreshing. I’m sorry, Caleb, but it was. Thank you for taking care of me. 
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

4 responses to “Pnemonia–the Extremely Edited Version.

  • barnyardmama

    Bummer. That’s all I can say about that. Thank goodness Caleb’s a good guy. We stopped getting cable all together to cut costs last year. Replaced it with 18/month Netflix. It was hard at first, but now I don’t even know what I’m missing.

  • miranda

    Hope you feel better soon!!

  • Joell

    Hey girl. I have been absent…again…but things have been crazy and a little depressing at times, and generally I like to keep the blog, well, not bumming everybody out, so I just haven’t been able to come up with stuff. AnyHOW…LOVE the new pics! Merrick is SO big and has grown HAIR since the last pic I saw. SO freakin cute. Sorry you are sick…hope by now you are starting to feel better. Pneumonia can creep up on you…Look forward to hearing more about Caleb’s genious business plan! Tell us more when you can. Take care girl…and you have been rocking with the running, but I imagine you are having to take it easy at the moment!

  • Bev

    Are you feeling better?? Pneumonia is nothing to mess with!! Please take good care of yourself. You are important around here you know!Hugs to you!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

