My Life This Week

Painting. I don’t know what exactly triggered my mini-renaissance period. I think it might have been partly because of KM’s new online store, and partly because I’ve had a few babies to make new name signs for. Or maybe it’s just that it’s been so rainy. It could be because I’ve got all the ideas in my head. Anyway I’ve been painting safe things like giraffes and trees and big globs of color on top of other globs of color. It satisfies the need, for now. What I really, really want to do? Is find a bunch of Barbie dolls, chop their hair off and paint them completely green, make their faces look all demonic, cram them into the clear vaccuum cleaner trap and take pictures…no reason. I’ve got a couple sketches of cute little birds and jolly fat men, but it’s the wicked aliens on the next page that I keep going back to. Sigh. I really wanted to make some art that I could put in my house without scaring the children, or my husband.
 
Our cars. Damn them. The Saturn, as I mentioned in a previous post, is sure to explode at any given moment–it’s just a matter of time–and the Alero refused to start Friday morning…just in time for Caleb’s trip to Alabama for his little sister’s graduation. He ended up renting a little yellow clown car and is now back in one piece, but the Alero is still jacked up. I say, thank goodness it’s stuck in our driveway rather than on the side of the road somewhere in Arkansas, but…still. Cars are so frustrating. For once–ONCE–in my life, I just want a dependable car with great air-conditioning. It doesn’t have to be a new car. It doesn’t have to be a big car. I don’t care if the interior is neon green and you have to roll the windows up and down with a crank. I just want a car that I can rely on to get me to the grocery store and back, a car that I’m not scared to put my children in, a car whose engine noises don’t make people physically recoil as I drive by.
 
Awesome. I got…AN MP3 player for Mother’s Day! It’s little, and black, and it only took me 6 hours to figure out how to use it! I love it. I love it. I love my dear husband for buying it, and I love my dear little children for passing it off as a gift from them. With this musical device, I can listen to any song I want, whenever I want. I can run fast. I can rule the world.
 
Movies. I watched "Australia" this past weekend while Caleb was gone. I’ve since added it to my "List of Hugh Jackman Movies I Like Not Just Because Hugh Jackman Is In Them" though yes, I did rent it based soley on the fact that it starred Hugh Jackman. I figured, you know, since I hadn’t yet had my Wolverine fix and whatnot. All in all, it was a pretty good flick. Kind of long. At times it seemed a little Gone-With-The-Wind-y (which, by the way, is fine–if the movie actually is Gone With the Wind.) I also rented "Juno", which was way stupider than I expected. I honestly do not understand what all the hype was about. I don’t. I did, however, like the fact that it didn’t end with the girl keeping the baby. I liked that she gave it to the single mom, and afterwards she was okay–happy, even. Good deal.
 
Birthdays. I am pretty much done buying Merrick stuff, and on Saturday, I’ll be picking up a little cake that he can wreck. For Cheyenne, I’ve bough a lamp that has silver mirrory circles all over it. I’m determined to make her room look…like a 13 year-old girl actually lives in it. I think she’s got this idea for her room, and that if she can’t make it look exactly like the idea, then she doesn’t want to do anything at all to it. And so, she has a very plain room. Nothing on the walls, nothing on the bedside table, white quilt on the bed, white pillows. Boring. I might not be able to find everything she wants, but I can get her started. And I love shopping for sparkly things.
 
 
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

2 responses to “My Life This Week

  • Joell

    Who you talking to girl??? Whe else can relate to the "jacked up car syndrome" but me? I feel your pain. Hang in there, honey.Hugh Jackman is hot. What can I say?

  • barnyardmama

    You know I went to an art exhibit where they had little green heads in buckets of goo, so you’re not that far off! It freaked me out, but I really do prefer to paint things that I’d like to look at and am less conceptual. I mean, the conceptual stuff is nice, but what do you DO with it, ya know?Sorry to hear about the cars. Hubs and I always buy used cars, but our luck has been pretty good.I fear what would happen if I had the chance to decorate a teen’s bedroom–the credit card would be hurting.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

