My Creative Dilema

 
I’m going to do it. I’m going to do it this summer–I promise. Even though I feel like I’m selling my artistic soul, by the time school starts, I’m going to sell my name signs in a shop on Etsy.com.
 
I swear.
 
I’m still a little fuzzy on the details. I do know that I will be listing my signs, primarily, at least at first. I love doing the signs. They’re fun. They’re easy. And they satisfy my need to paint something, even if they are a little paint-by-number for me. I’ll also probably stick my mad calligraphy skillz on there as a service. I’m still going over prices in my head, and I’m trying to imagine when I’m going to get the time to actually work on the signs if they indeed sell.
 
I’m also at a loss as to what to call the shop. I’ve had a few ideas tossed at me from some helpful people, but I’m having trouble deciding. I want something that relates to the product, or at least relates to my style, yet something that isn’t boring…and I’d rather go with something totally off the wall rather than be boring. But if I go with something too crazy, it might turn people off. And of course, the name can’t already be taken. Soooo…. here is a list of what I’ve got so far, and I’d love–really, LOVE–to hear from anyone who can think of anything else.
 
  • The Sign Shop, Name Your Sign–My ideas. Yawn. Both safe, both generic. Kind of limiting, I think, especially if I want to put any of my paintings in the shop one day.
  • Inkery–Cute, I guess, for the calligraphy part of the shop. But it makes me think of a tattoo parlor.
  • Prairie Letters, Prairie Lettering–Cheyenne’s contribution. I like it. I do. But I’m a little iffy on the whole "prairie" thing.

HELP.

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

3 responses to “My Creative Dilema

  • barnyardmama

    I like inkery–but I’m weird. Go ahead and sell your artistic soul–I think it feels good when my art finds a home that isn’t my garage.

  • MrsVladdevlor

    I think "Inkery" sounds really good, even with paintings.. it’s an original name and makes me think of art, paintings, and all things creative… kind of like a place where all the talented and creative people come to get away from the boring and mundane life (if that makes sense)…

  • Bev

    Hmmm…."The Little Shop of Letters"??? Ummmm…..I got nothing. That’s due to the fact that I do not have ONE creative bone in my body! I do like "Inkery" as well. I bet you are going to do very well on etsy!! Go for it girl!! You have the talent so show it off!!Hugs to you!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

