Yay.

 
Today I’m thankful that I’m already married, because weddings? Are freakin’ stressful! Some other things I’m thankful for:
 
…that in less than a week, I’ll be in New Orleans with my sisters!
 
…that the sun came out and melted away all our snow and ice. Spring is here–let’s get this party started!
 
…that my husband likes to garden as much as he does. I’m jonesin’ for some homegrown tomatoes.
 
…that after living in Oklahoma for 5 years, I’m finally getting to know cool people.
 
…and that I think I’ve tricked them all into liking me somehow.
 
…that this bible study I’ve been doing is soooo worth the initial frustration.
 
…that Merrick only screams in his crib for 35 minutes at bedtime before giving up and going to sleep.
 
…that Caleb is sweet enough to fetch me Tylenol and ice-water at 5:30 in the morning when I have a migraine.
 
…that Cheyenne is so stinking hilarious when she’s not too busy being surly.
 
…that Mia is so affectionate and loving these days. 5 year-olds: good for the soul, great for the ego.
 
In other news, 2 of my children have basically had their hair chopped off. Cheyenne got froggy one day and got a sassy chin-length choppy little bob–completely out of the blue–and it. Looks. So good. I’m still debating whether or not she got her hair cut, or if the lady just stretched her neck out another foot, making her hair appear shorter. When she allows me to take pictures, I will post them–if she allows me. Merrick, my precious, dimpled baby boy, is now sporting a buzz-cut? A crew cut? I don’t know what to actually call it, but it breaks my heart to look at him. Those fuzzy, soft, tufts of white blond hair? Gone. Now he looks like a leaner, meaner version of himself. It’s sad. And you know how I said keeping hair in envelopes is creepy? Well, it still is–but dangit, I’m doing it anyway. Don’t get me wrong; he’s still adorable, but it’s just that he looks so much…older. I’ll take a picture of his new ‘do and post that as well.
 
In the meantime, here are some oldies but goldies I found in an old computer file. In these pictures, Mia is right about Merrick’s age, and Cheyenne is a mere 10 years old. Sigh. All my kids are growing up way too fast.
 

 
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

3 responses to “Yay.

  • barnyardmama

    I kept some of Charlie’s curls too even thought that’s not really my style–they were just so pretty. Now I really want to see this hair cut of Cheyenne’s.

  • JERALYN

    I, too, saved all 3 of my boys initial hair cuts. Now after 28 + years I don’t know where I put them…..maybe in their baby books??? I think Cheyenne will look great..can’t wait to see it. Have a great time in N. O. We can’t wait to see you all in PNS. Have you decided on your mode of transportation?Love you guys,Jer & DerrelJer & Derrel

You must be logged in to post a comment.

