In a Nutshell.

I’m too busy to write a thoughtful entry about our trip to Florida for my little sister’s wedding. I put up a thousand pictures to sum it up. If you are dying for details, you’re only getting the general run-down: we left at 8:30 Wednesday night. Basically it took forever driving down there from Oklahoma. We arrived Thursday before noon. We went to see my sister’s new house. I can’t remember much else since I was tired enough to pass out pretty much that entire day. Friday we got pedicures and ran errands. We went to the rehearsal and the rehearsal dinner. Saturday was an absolute blur–a good kind of blur. We woke up at the crack of dawn, got our hair done, snagged some coffee, got the kids ready, went to the church, got our dresses on, and watched Katie and Marty get married. The special wedding people got to ride a party bus out to the reception on the beach. Awesome. We danced and ate cake and took pictures. Caleb chased around after Merrick pretty much the entire weekend. Saturday night we hung out with Caleb’s brother and his girlfriend at our hotel room on the beach. Sunday morning the kids woke up at 6:00 ready to hit the (freezing cold) water. I fed them muffins and bagels and bananas and sausage from the hotel’s fabulous continental breakfast bar. We went out on the beach, played for a while, collected shells, built sand-castles, and went back inside for showers. We packed up, left the hotel and ate lunch where Caleb could get him some good (disgusting, nasty) raw oysters. We headed back in town for my father-in-law’s surprise 65th birthday party, which his girlfriend Jeralyn had been so thoughtful (and sneaky!) to plan. Caleb’s sister Joy was there and we got to meet her boyfriend, too. It was a really great party, but we had to leave all too soon–had to get back to my mom’s and pack up and get ready for the long drive back home.
 
The long, long, long drive back to Oklahoma. It was way more brutal coming back than it was going. I’m still exhausted. And homesick for Florida and the beach. But all in all, it was a great trip. My sister Katie is so, so, happy. Marty is one of the sweetest men in the whole wide world and he literally treats her like a queen. They are so cute together. I love them. I can’t wait to see everyone again.
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

3 responses to “In a Nutshell.

  • barnyardmama

    Reese got so big! Love looking at all the pictures. Glad you had a fun time.

  • Nikki

    Great pictures, Toni! You all looked beautiful. Katie’s dress was gorgeous! The pictures of Merrick in his little suit and sunglasses cracked me up. He’s such a ham.

  • Tiffany

    I’m so glad that you guys had a good trip. We will be making that LONG drive at the end of June to Destin. You are right… NW FL does have the prettiest beaches! We wouldn’t vacation anywhere else. I couldn’t imagine getting to grow up there! I wish Britt could find a job there because I would move there in a heartbeat! :)Hugs – Tiff

You must be logged in to post a comment.

