God Bless My Car’s Precious Little Heart

 
Picture me, if you will, for a minute, behind the wheel of my ’97 four-door forest green Saturn. Tan leather interior, sunroof. I look good, no? Okay. Let’s add in 102 degrees, no air conditioning, 2 windows that absolutely will not roll down (and 1 more that’s touch and go), sitting 40 minutes in that elementary school pick-up line, and a red-cheeked, bored-to-death Merrick in the backseat.
 
Don’t anyone ever tell me that my job as a stay-at-home mom is easy.
 
You’d think this entry was written with the purpose of complaining about my ride, but you would be wrong. Every day that goes by without my car bursting into flames in the middle of the road is a day that I become more amazed at the sheer car-making genius of the Saturn company. I am so sad they shut down–because this thing? That I’m driving right now? Is a ridiculously durable piece of machinery. Sure, it’s got 250,000 miles on it, the interior’s all tore up, my kids are like sardines in the backseat, there’s food in there from 2003, the automatic locks have a mind of their own, the air condition works every other day for a few minutes at a time, and the service light stays on more than it stays off, and the sound of the engine makes people physically recoil when I drive down the street…but the radio still works, and it just. Keeps. Going.
 
It’s the car that just won’t die.
 
And that’s a good thing.
 
I really love my car. It’s going to be a sad day when something happens to it–like, for example, it mysteriously rolls off a cliff with no one in it–there will be tears. It was (wisely) purchased by my father-in-law, and driven by my brother-in-law, and then given to my husband before I met him. Heaven only knows the action that car has seen in its 13 short years on earth. When I got sick of lugging carseats in and out of my 2-door Alero, Caleb and I traded. And now I drive the beast.
 
Of course, I’d be happy with anything that gets me from point A to point B without exploding–I don’t care if it’s got "Made in Taiwan" stamped on the bottom of it. I think a certain sense of dignity would be restored if I were to drive something as nice or nicer than my kid’s stroller. Our original plan was to have already dealt with buying another car by this point; but something about layoffs and babies and surgeries and bills, and oh, LIFE, required us to change things up. So I am really, really thankful that our little green car has provided us with 2 additional years of faithful service. And I would most certainly leap–LEAP, I tell you–at the chance to own another Saturn.
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

One response to “God Bless My Car’s Precious Little Heart

  • barnyardmama

    My husband had that exact same car! Well, something like that. Sadly, it did not live long. It used to kill on the interstate randomly. Now we have a purple Malibu that is giving us some great service. Not the prettiest car, but like you said, it’s gets us around and that’s what matters .

You must be logged in to post a comment.

