Pampered Much?

My name is Merrick. I am two years old. Every morning, I wake up. I open my eyes and see that I have once again lost the fight to stay awake all night long. I am in my crib. I whine. Nobody seems to hear me.
 
So, I scream.
 
2 seconds go by, and no one has come to check on me. I scream louder.
 
Mom comes in. I find her to be unpleasant. I scream. I want my juice. So I scream. I don’t want my juice in the green cup; I prefer blue today. Mom should know that. I scream.
 
I sit on the couch. Mom covers me with the furry blanket. I wanted to be covered with the Florida Gators blanket while sitting on the furry blanket. I scream.
 
For some reason, Tarzan is not on TV. I scream. I sip my juice. The cup is now only three-quarters of the way full. I scream. Mom turns on Tarzan. I wanted Lightning McQueen. I scream.
 
I hear Mom in the kitchen filling up the coffee pot. I race in to help her; I am not allowed to touch the coffee maker. I scream. I touch it anyway. It’s hot, so I scream.
 
I go back to the living room. Where is Mia? I am bored. I scream. Mia comes in the living room and dares to sit on my couch. I scream. She screams back. And so I scream again.
 
Mom is pouring coffee when she should be getting me my trucks. Doesn’t she realize I can’t watch Cars without them? I scream. She brings the wrong color truck. I scream. I want my animals instead. I scream.
 
Mom drinks her coffee. She won’t let me have any. I scream. She has some nerve to sit in front of me with that polka-dot  mug of steamy, caffeinated goodness. I scream over the sheer injustice of it all.
 
I look at the ceiling. Mom comes in with a diaper. I don’t want a diaper, so, yet again, I scream. She suggests I use the potty. Outrageous. I scream.
 
The dogs are up. They are outside. Why can’t I pee outside? I scream.
 
Where is my food? I scream. I am sick of cheerios–in fact, I never really liked them to begin with. I scream. How can we be out of bananas? I only eat three a day. I scream.
 
I do not understand why I can’t ride my 4-wheeler at 7:00 in the morning. I scream.
 
I do not understand this "Be quiet" that everyone speaks of. What does that even mean? I scream.
 
This concludes the first 15 minutes in an average day-in-the-life of me. I will be back later with details of the time of day I like to call "The Hour In Which Mommy Loses It Big Time".
 
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

One response to “Pampered Much?

  • barnyardmama

    Yikes. Charlie had a similar stage at two-ish. Made me completely bonkers. We finally started playing music ALL THE TIME because that seemed to calm him. It’s still not perfect because he can’t talk, but whatchagonnado?

You must be logged in to post a comment.

