1/11/11

I know what’s wrong with January so far. I don’t have any of these to work on:

And that truly saddens me. I am grieved.

Understatement of the year: It’s friggin cold here. So cold, in fact, that my wedding ring fits un-snug-ly, even after I’ve done 30 minutes of secret exercise. (Stay with me, people–secret exercise: exercise done in the privacy of my own room, when Caleb is not home, exercise done to an exercise video that includes the word “Booty” in the title, exercise that makes me look basically ridiculous, etc.)

Today was my great grandmother’s 100th birthday. To celebrate, she and a few select family members got their party on at Logan’s Roadhouse, where I am told she ordered chicken teriyaki along with her usual bourbon and water. Um? Delish! Also, once word got out in the restaurant about the birthday girl, people started coming over to the table to congratulate her.

And I got to thinking, as I always do, about all the changes I’ve gone through in just 5 short years. What in the world must it be like to have lived for 100 years? I’d list everything neato that’s happened in our world over the last century, but it’d take to long and I’d leave something out. But seriously? The woman is amazing. There will be a much bigger celebration going down this weekend, complete with out-of-town guests and a cake that I can only assume will be giant.

What will I do for my 100th birthday? Well, if I live that long, I’d definitely go with the chicken teriyaki. I’d need my nails painted in, oh, WHATEVER I FEEL LIKE THAT DAY, and I’d enjoy a nice roll on the beach…at night, because that will always be the hot thing to do. Presents won’t really matter to me at that point, because by then, I’ll have had every material thing that I could have possibly ever wanted. I’d be really lucky to have my family with me, and maybe a few dear friends. For them to just bask in the glow of the awesomeness that would be me at 100, well, that does just about beat all. I wish I were in Florida right now to bask in my great-grandma’s glow. God has blessed her with a long life–I can only imagine the ride it’s been so far. She is beautiful, inside and out, and I hope she has had a spectacular day.

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

One response to “1/11/11

  • Katy

    My grandfather lived until 96 (or something like that) and when I look at pictures of him as a kid I am blown away. I mean, just looking at the clothes back then makes me realize how much time has passed and how different things are.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

