Day…3?

Being snowed in. I just like it, okay? When else is it acceptable to drink coffee and watch movies from the time you get up in the morning until the time you go to bed at night? I do have to say, thought, that if I have to sit through one more movie involving talking animals I’ll probably scream.

School has been out since Tuesday, and it will be out tomorrow as well. It’s nice–since we don’t have to wake up at the crack of dawn, we wake up at about 15 minutes after the crack of dawn. And yesterday, before the clock even struck 8:00 a.m., we already had a tent that encompassed the whole of the living room and part of the kitchen. So to Mia and Merrick, in their little flannel jammies, sitting in their tent eating poptarts and pineapples, watching “Scooby Doo at Camp Scare” for the 1000th time in a row, life is good.

We did watch “My Dog Skip” altogether as a family. There was a lot of crying. But don’t worry–Caleb regained his composure just in time to do an interpretive cape dance to the end credits.

And by the way, Scooby Doo: I have a bone to pick with you. Sure, you’re a semi-talking dog that eats sandwiches and hot peppers, and you solve mysteries and you travel all over the world without ever having to worry about a 6-month quarantine, but when you suddenly learn to drive? Well, I’m sorry, but that’s just not realistic. And nothing angers me more than a ridiculously unbelievable scenario…in a cartoon about a talking dog.

Our yard looks beautiful in the snow. I know that in one week’s time, it will be back to being nasty crunchy brown blah.

Caleb and Mia built an igloo on our back porch. It’s pretty darn solid. Caleb suggested spraying it down with a little water and letting it freeze over night, ensuring the igloo’s survival for at least another week or so. Then we laughed at the thought of being able to hide Easter eggs in the thing. That igloo is so firmly packed and frozen; it’s not going anywhere.

We also did up some sweet Valentine’s Day t-shirts for Mia and my neice using fabric paint and the bottom of a spool of thread. They turned out so pretty, I think I’ll dig through my dresser drawers for a plain-colored shirt so I can make one for myself.

Caleb has been trying (bless his determined little heart) to work in his office this whole week. It’s got to be difficult–his office opens right up to our living room, where he can hear every. single. awesome thing we do. Plus the kids are constantly banging in and out of there every chance they get: “Come chase us, Daddy! Come and chase us!”

I love snow. Of course, we got less than a foot–and our power never went out. You put me in a house with no heat and no running water and I’ll have a nervous breakdown. When I was pregnant with Merrick, we had an ice storm that was extremely uncool, and the worst part about it was not seeing our breaths in the living room, but NOT BEING ABLE TO FLUSH THE TOILETS. So I hope that everyone out there is staying safe and warm, and that you are all able to enjoy this snow as much as we are here.

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

One response to “Day…3?

You must be logged in to post a comment.

