Once Again

An update for people who are dying to know:

I’m (wait for it…) busy. Oh, so busy. Honestly I don’t know how I get myself into situations, but I do, and things all seem to hit at once. This year I’m involved in about 50 volunteer activites and as it turns out, instead of being good at a few things, I’m half-assing about a million little things. I’m a strung-out schmuck, I tell you. Homeowner’s association secretary, kids softball coach, Wednesday night toddler-wrangler, wife, mom, chef, driver, referee, teacher, dog-trainer, and of course, MAID, and I? Am tired. And un-paid.

On the bright side, we’re getting bunkbeds and Caleb is going to install beadboard and a chair rail in the little kids’ room this weekend. Noah is doing fantastic in his crate (he brought that on himself when he peed on my library books.) and Cheyenne’s band stuff is starting to taper off, which is awesome because her being in the marching band is wearing me the frick out.

She’s signed up for track and field this year and my heart smiles when I see her out on there running, huffing and puffing and about to die. Ah, the good old days. She told me coach put her in the distance category and I almost cried, I was so pleased and proud. She’s so teenagery these days and we bounce back and forth from being all happy-mom&daughter to me wondering if she’s got alien blood, and I swear up and down that I never acted the way she does sometimes. But I love her.

Mia and Merrick are both insane and loveable. I don’t know where they’re getting it, but they’ve got to be snorting crack for as hyper as they get in between the hours of 4 and 7 p.m., coincidentally the same time that I’m on my last leg and my patience, what little I had, is long gone.

Caleb recently went on a men’s retreat with our church and came back a new man–with new man friends. I love. him.

Today is Mardi Gras and there is nothing in Oklahoma to point to that. I’m missing friends and family and Florida and that just does not go away, no matter how long I’ve lived here (since December 27, 2004 in case anyone was wondering.) You southern people eat some king cake for me.

That is all.

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

You must be logged in to post a comment.

