Spring.

Song I sang at the top of my lungs in the car today: “The Power of Love” y’all. Huey Lewis and the News. UN-PRE-DICTABLE! OH YEAH!

I sang it on the way to a consignment shop. I need clothes and shoes in a bad way, and I hate shopping at the mall, or worse–Target. I was hoping to get away with a couple of gently-used shirts and maybe a pair of jeans for super cheap. No such luck. Consignment stores are kind of proud of their stuff–I’m not paying $5 for limp and linty piece of clothing that I wouldn’t dress my cat in. And I don’t even have a cat. And that Nine West wallet? I’m sorry, but is it gold-plated or can it wash my dishes? Because I can find that brand-new on clearance at TJ Maxx, which is, coincidentally, exactly where I ended up today.

I didn’t find much there either.

I don’t think I could be more of a cheapskate.

Today’s only the first day of spring? This past week has me itching for summer. I have a sunburn for crying out loud. Hard to believe we were snowed in just a little over a month ago.

I painted that dresser lime-freaking-green. It’s awesome. Some would call it radioactive. That color will wake the dead. I’m not sure my kids will be able to sleep in the same room with it–but they sure love it.

Says Mia: “Mom, yesterday at Sunday school, our teacher came in and said, “Is this room perfect?” And we were all like, “Um, a little bit.” And he was like, “Well, I know what will make it perfect.” And he opened a white box that he was holding, and do you know what it was? Donuts!” And at that point I cracked up because I pictured the first-graders swarming that poor man like a pack of rabid velociraptors.

We had company over Saturday night. It was all going great until one man brought up skin cancer, at which point I officially killed the mood and became THAT guy–the one who grosses everyone out by showing a scab. I don’t know what came over me. The thought popped in my head, and before I knew it, I was rolling up my sleeve saying, “What does this look like to you?”

Nice, no?

Cheyenne had a dentist appointment on Friday at 11:40. That morning, the dentist’s office called and said:

 “Hello, might you be able to come in earlier? We have an opening.”

And I said, “No, we’ll probably be there closer to the actual appointment time.”

The lady says, “Oh, okay, so maybe around 11:00?”

And I said, “What time is it? 10:45? Hmm. That’s 15 minutes from right now. We’ll be there at 11:40. Okaythanksbye.”

I love our dentist, but that office does this everytime–calls and asks me that day if I want to come in a  little early. I guess it would be nice if it were just me. Or if my kids were angel clones–“Hey guys! Guess what! I just got off the phone with the dentist’s office, and she said we could go EARLY! So come on! We’re all dressed and ready and sitting on the couch twiddling our thumbs, with nothing whatsoever else to do, just waiting on pins and needles until the minute we can leave. Let’s go ahead and go NOW! I’m EXCITED, aren’t you?!!”

So that’s been our Friday through Monday. Tuesday through Thursday looks to be just as much fun. Have a great week everybody!

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

One response to “Spring.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

