Fantasy Mother’s Day

What? Men get fantasy baseball.

I don’t consider myself a greedy person, unless it comes to something I want. This year, for Mother’s Day? The top thing on my wishlist is sleep. Maybe 7, 8 hours–consecutive hours–of sleep. 9 just seems frivolous.

I’ve taken the liberty of writing out some more of my deepest Mother’s Day desires, and if it sounds like I’m dropping hints, it’s because I am.

  • Sleep. Did I say that already? I guess maybe I did. Sleeping is awesome. Sleeping makes me feel happy. Sleeping is free.
  • Coffee. Like, a lot of coffee–flavored coffee, the really good kind, fully-caffeinated. And you know what? Let’s just go ahead and fantasize about whip cream (on the coffee of course!). Super hot coffee and maybe even in a brand new super-cute oversized latte mug, if you insist on buying anything at all $8-$12 at Target or Peir 1, not that I’ve thought this out or anything.
  • Every mother loves breakfast in bed. But seeing as this could possibly interfere with the whole sleep thing we talked about, we can skip breakfast and instead plan a nice brunch…that’s just sort of like a big breakfast. I’m down with french toast and bacon, but if you really want to wow me, you’ll bust out with some chocolate croissants and fresh blueberries. I’m just sayin.
  • Yeah, I’ll admit it. I love the zoo. Stupidest place in the world to go on Mother’s day. It’s crowded. It’s hot. But I do love animals.
  • So a crowded stinky zoo isn’t everyone’s idea of a good time. I’m also down with the park–and it’s 2 seconds away! And parks are even better with coffee!
  • And so I was thinking, after the park, we could go for a…wait for it…country drive! Windows down, radio up, kids passed out in the backseat–doesn’t get any better than that!
  • I guess I wouldn’t mind a bath…and a shower. A shower and a bath. Yes. Even though I’d feel compelled to shave my legs past my knees, it’d still be enjoyable.
  • Flowers:  I love me some flowers–I do! And I’ll take just about any kind–but whenever I go to the grocery store and I’ve blown almost our entire allotted food budget on, well, food, I pass the floral section and I absolutely lust over tulips. And sometimes irises, definitely sunflowers, and those cool little red coffee-bean filler flowers, and yellow roses. I. LOVE. FLOWERS.
  • I also love shoes. Whatever. You know what I love more? A clean house. That I didn’t have to clean.
  • And since Mother’s day is all about the construction-paper cards with a 7-legged glitter-glue cat on the front, that say “I Love you mom you are the best mom in the hole world and i will always be your little gril,” I’m really hoping I get one of those, too.
  • With my coffee.
About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

One response to “Fantasy Mother’s Day

  • Joell

    I am totally down with your fantasy mother’s day…right down to the whipped cream on my flavored coffee and taking a bath and shower in the same day! LOL Any of those items, including the full night of sleep would be awesome on ANY day right now!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

