Oh, How I love Summer.

Today is officially the second day of summer vacation. I got to sleep in until 8:10. It…was heavenly.

Our activities have died down, big-time, effective this past weekend. Our softball tournament was cancelled so we spent Friday and Saturday at our town’s “May Daze” festival: carnival rides, fried foods on sticks, craft booths, and $30 dropped on little ponies that walk around and around in a circle.

On Sunday, our town and our church put on a block party in the park to celebrate the opening of a new splash pad. I spent 4 hours that morning on my hands and knees doing chalk drawings advertising Vacation Bible School and a soccer league our church was starting. 4 hours, cool morning air, not a soul around, had my music, fresh chalk, coffee. BEST DAY EVER!

That afternoon we took the kids out to the park for some food, enjoyed a little inflatable-obstacle-course action, and of course, checked out the splash pad. Cheyenne’s high school band played several songs. There were also horses there that Mia rode the. entire. time. Over and over, back and forth, she rode those horses. I’ve never seen such sheer joy on child’s face anywhere, ever. When her turn was up, she got right back in line and waited. This went on for 3 hours until I was finally able to convince her to eat half a hot dog and jump for 2 seconds on the moonbounce–and then she promptly ran back to check on the horses again.

We may or may not be looking into finding a big hunk of property on which to put a horse that we may or not be looking into purchasing.

Oy. It was a fantastic weekend. And now, here we are. The sun is shining, for now. The dogs are outside playing, the kids are getting playdoh all over the living room. We have no plans for the rest of the week, except for the occasional softball game or 2. Life is so good.

We are expecting some storms this afternoon, which is a little scary especially considering all these tornadoes that have been happening across the country. I have already pulled out the weather radio and I don’t plan on moving far from it after about 3:00. And I have this overwhelming urge to thoroughly bathe and shave my legs. Think about it this way: if my house is destroyed then it might be a while before I get good and clean again. And if I die, I want to at least smell good. It went the same way with hurricanes: Buy bottled water? Check. Board up the windows? Check. Get a good shower, shave legs, and straighten your hair? Double check. It’s totally logical.

All you Oklahoma people stay safe today.

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

5 responses to “Oh, How I love Summer.

  • Hilary

    I love summer too! I find that I appreciate it more living in a state that has intense winters. I kind of took it for granted in CA because the weather was always nice, but now that we have winters (and snow!), I’m outside nonstop once its nice!

    And the horse thing would be awesome! I’m jealous! 😀

    Hopefully the tornadoes stay away…

  • Stephanie

    I’m just sayin…. I know where a good chunk of 30 acres are for sale! With decent neighbors 🙂 and a good price!

  • KLZ

    Uh, you know, that is perfectly logical and I’d never considered it before. I’ll have to start bathing with all major weather advisories.

    • Toni

      Uh, oh my gosh? Just checked out your blog, found the zombie tag, and read about your Kesha obsession plus your fear of a zombie apocalypse and I have decided that you? Must be my long-lost mind-twin. Or something. Love your blog.

  • Joell

    Ahhh! Good times! 😀

You must be logged in to post a comment.

