Cars 2: A Review By Me, Not Really an Expert, but Sort of.

Let me first say that we at my house are certified Lightning McQueen Freaks. For the last year and a half, we have eaten, lived, and breathed “Cars”. Cheyenne and I could quote it from beginning to end. It’s one of the few children’s movies that doesn’t make me want to rip my hair out with my bare hands. Disney Pixar animation studios, I salute you.

Last night we took one excited little boy and his big sister to see Cars 2 at the movie theater. We had our drinks, our popcorn, and we got there in plenty of time to get good seats. The show was great–but it simply did not hold Merrick’s attention. And it’s understandable. The plot was involved, the dialogue was hard to understand, and it was pretty much all about Mater, who, while totally sweet and cute, is just not who my kid came to see. That laid-back Radiator Springs vibe from the first movie was replaced with this super-complicated, International-spy/evil oil company-conspiracy theory storyline, and Merrick just about went flipping bananas before the movie was even halfway over. Lucky for us, he was a little tired, so I think that kept him calmer than he normally would have been.

Overall, kids are probably going to love Cars 2. Mia was into it–Caleb and I really enjoyed it. But if you’re like me and you’ve got a preschool-age little guy who’s crazy about Lightning McQueen, it might be best to just stay home and put his Cars DVD on repeat.

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

You must be logged in to post a comment.

