I Could Do This All Day Long.

I’ve gotten all Jesus on you before, but this may actually mark the first time ever that I’ve quoted scripture on my blog. Talk amongst yourselves; I’ll give you a topic: You can either be honored or disgusted–Go.

Ah, here it is:

Matthew 6:25-34:  25 “That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life—whether you have enough food and drink, or enough clothes to wear. Isn’t life more than food, and your body more than clothing? 26 Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are? 27Can all your worries add a single moment to your life?

   28 “And why worry about your clothing? Look at the lilies of the field and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, 29 yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. 30And if God cares so wonderfully for wildflowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you. Why do you have so little faith?

   31 “So don’t worry about these things, saying, ‘What will we eat? What will we drink? What will we wear?’ 32 These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers, but your heavenly Father already knows all your needs. 33Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.

   34 “So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.

Sure, Jesus. That’s easy for you to say–you’re God’s One and Only Son. Me? Not exactly born of a virgin here.

But here’s what’s up: Believers–true believers–are God’s kids too. Like, equal rights and everything. If God had a last name, we would get it. I’m not going around calling myself Toni Christ or anything, but God loves me like a mamma-jamma, and proof of that lies in Jesus’s very existence. I need not concern myself with where my next meal is going to come from (Dear God: Am I or am I not going to have waffles for breakfast in the morning?) or what I’m going wear tomorrow (Dear God: If it be your will, can that beautiful purple dress with the ruffles at Dillards please, please go on half-off sale? Thank you, and good night.)

I see it happening with my kids (in particular) when they’re complaining about not having internet access on their own personal iphones, or not having their own personal iphones period (and yes, both Cheyenne and  Mia feel that they have been dealt a horrible injustice in this way), not having unlimited texting, not having the latest gaming system, not having their own rooms. Even Merrick partakes in the whining on a daily basis when I won’t let him have popcorn for breakfast…okay, sometimes we have popcorn for breakfast, but not everyday. And I make him eat 1/3 of a banana afterward.

God knows what we want–He just gives us what we need. I don’t need a brand new SUV. I don’t need 5 acres just so I can have a place to put the horse I also don’t need. I don’t need a new phone–in fact, I don’t actually need my current phone. (But, I might actually need that purple dress.) I’m obsessed with all the wrong things. And it’s probably annoying the crap out of God.

So, I’d do well to take a lesson from Jesus. Today I’ll do the grocery shopping, come home, and enjoy spending a wonderful weekend with my family–counting my blessings the whole time.

Happy Fourth of July Weekend everyone!

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

You must be logged in to post a comment.

