Lego House Analysis

REDNECK GUY IN A GREEN SKIRT’S HOUSEBOAT:

This crisp, well thought-out structure is, in a way, camouflaged by the informality of the landscaping. While a clear bifurcation exists between site and structure, we give high marks to the close coordination of architect and landscape architect in using similar materials to exaggerate the divergent design concepts. The disciplined interior offers relief to the eyes with a subtle yet intentional reflective tone. Grade: B+

Yeah, I don’t know what any of that architectural mumbo jumbo actually means. But it’s a rainy day, me and the kid have stuffy noses, and this is what we do. I chose to go with a boathouse this time around–an interesting and refreshing change from the cookie-cutter, red-roofed block houses on fake green lawns.

Okay, fine. I lie. Merrick wanted a boathouse. So the whole idea was his. I came up with this gem:

RANDOM RUBBER PRINCESS’S MODERN COTTAGE:

This project impressed us with its attenuation of structure and bright interior spaces. The courtyard and formal entry are also well thought-out and provide a clear means of way-finding. Grade A+

 

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

You must be logged in to post a comment.

