Classy with a capital NOT

Ah, September. Homecoming. Spirit week. Parades. Football. Let me just say, we love our Lions. Like, a lot.

My family and I went down to the football field last night to catch a little hometown football action. We watched as the beauty queens made their way around the field in shiny new convertibles. We watched as the homecoming king crowned the homecoming queen–the pair happened to be brother and sister. It was such a sweet moment. All the moms were crying. The band played. The cheer leaders cheered.

And then, to my sheer delight, my family and I got to listen to Soulja Boy’s “Crank That” as the football players ran out onto the field. I can only assume the thought of “supermaning that hoe” got them really fired up.

Thankyouverymuch, hometown football organization, for inserting utter vulgarity into what should have been a fun, family-friendly community event. I salute you.

Now, I know I have a tendency to be a fun-sucker, so if it’s just me, I’ll drop it. Because we all know how I despise booty music, right? That’s sarcasm. I love it. God help me, I love it. I’ve struggled with letting it go. But here’s one thing I’ve always taken great lengths to do: keep my children from listening to lyrics like “supersoak that”. Oy.

Really? It’s a hometown HOMECOMING football game. There’s a million little kids there. I paid almost $20 just to get in the gate; I don’t even want to say how much we donated to hotdogs, popcorn and cokes.

I know I can’t protect my kids from everything and everyone. But I kind of thought this sort of venue was one of the few places still kept sacred. I suppose I was wrong. So I can either stop taking my kids to community events, or I can just let it go–kind of like whoever okay-ed the sex song on the football field–and succumb to the moral degeneration of society.

What to do.

Eh.

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

One response to “Classy with a capital NOT

You must be logged in to post a comment.

