Seven–do it.

Yes. All of this. All that crap that just came out of Jen Hatmaker’s  mouth? That’s what I think everyday. Yes to her blog. Her words. This new book. The whole thing. Best thing I ever read. And I guess that’s not saying much, because I don’t read very often, but when I do, I make it count–and this so totally counts.

From her blog today she writes this:

Why are we still starving for nourishment after our sixth Bible study in a row? How can people supposedly filled with the Spirit be so enamored with the luxuries of this world to the detriment of the other 99% who suffer so? How can be the richest people on earth still be so unhappy? Does my craving for more neutralize the enough that Jesus says He is? If I’m patterned after my Savior, why does my life look exactly like everyone else’s, with the exception of some stellar church attendance?

But wait–there’s more!

For the love of Michael, it’s such a battle to be human and love Jesus well, isn’t it? For people mired in luxury and privileges, the gospel is dangerously simple. It completely fails to secure our station. It’s like it doesn’t even care. It doesn’t offer the exemptions I’m comfortable with or the clauses that keep everything decent. Worse, it outright threatens a bunch of things I like. I mean, I really like them and Jesus doesn’t seem to give a flip. In fact, he talks kind of ugly about rich people and seems to think we will have the very hardest time finding his kingdom… the.very.hardest.time. Harder than a camel fitting through the eye of a needle. Harder than that. I’m no scientist, but one of these things appears harder, and Jesus chose the other one.

Now I’m freaked out, because Jesus also said, listen, a bunch of people think they are following me, that they “get” the gospel, but they so don’t and are actually extremely self-deceived because you cannot love God and money. I’m not even playing. You cannot. You cannot say you love me yet hate your brother. That makes you a liar, not a disciple. The way is narrow. Kate Moss narrow. Few will find it, and the richer you are, sorry, but the harder it’s going to be for you to actually give up everything you have and follow me, because you have so much to lose.

This stuff makes me hyperventilate, not just because Jesus said it, but because I feel it.

Okay, wow. This business is crazy. And this book is good. It’s seriously enough to make me feel good about my 97 forest-green touch-and-go Saturn for just a little bit longer. Plus it’s less than $8 off of amazon.com.

 

 

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

You must be logged in to post a comment.

