Meanwhile, at Toni’s house…

I don’t have a ton of time. I’m taking Mia to the doctor’s office today because she’s had this annoying barky cough for the past 4 months and it’s about to drive me damn nuts. It usually only happens at bedtime, but for the past week or so it’s been going on during the day too. Here’s me: “Ohp. Need to yawn, about to yawn…here it goes, it’s coming…yaaaaw-”

Here’s Mia: “BARK! BARKBARKBARK!”

Me: “Thanks a lot Mia! I just lost my concentration and I have to start my yawn all over again! Now I feel like I can’t breathe! Oh crap–I can’t breathe! I’m going to die! I need air! Blasts! I hate your cough!”

So I called and made an appointment with Norman Pediatrics in Norman, and in case you didn’t know, they’re amazeballs. I just love them. Sure, they’re a big busy clinic with a giant tree in the waiting room, but they know what they’re doing. Our doctor has been seeing my kids since the minute we moved to Oklahoma. He’s the one who totally called craniosynostosis on the day Merrick was born. His NP rocks that backup role like no other. They’re just good people and if I weren’t already constantly scheduling appointments for my 3 children who are always jacked up in one way or another, I’d make up sicknesses just to see them.

I’m kidding.

Or am I?

In other news, I’ve finished the 24-Day Challenge with Advocare. Officially I lost 10 pounds and like, 10 inches or something. I’m happy enough to stick with a couple of their products, namely the Advocare Spark since I threw away my coffee maker last month and I still want my caffeine fix in the morning.

I signed up on myfitnesspal.com to keep track of calories and exercise and whatnot–and it’s kind of turning the whole weight loss quest into a fun little game. I’m on week 3 of C25K and I’m surviving. The Oklahoma dead summer heat provides a very small window of time when I can actually exercise outdoors: before 8 a.m. and after 8 p.m. Unfortunately my kids don’t know the meaning of the words “Sleep in–it’s freaking summer vacation!” and they’ve been getting up no later than 7:00 every morning, regardless of what time they go to bed.

I was going to ask the doc for tranquilizers today.

I’m  kidding.

Or am I?

Last but not least, my nephew Rylan Ray was born last Friday. He’s had a tough life so far, first with respiratory issues and now with jaundice, but he’s on the mend and looks to be going home soon.

My little sister Katie is–of course, gorgeous–and adjusting well to parenthood, and seems to be doing about as well as any new mother can do, given the circumstances. She has proven herself to be so super-strong in these past months, and the birth of her son has cemented her status as a genuine beautiful, capable Wonder Woman. I’m so proud to call her my sister.

And I can’t wait to see my nephew!

 

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

You must be logged in to post a comment.

