Never Leave Your Ten-Cow Woman Behind.

I have blender lust.

I could blend a flippin’ tree in this bad boy.

I’ve become obsessed with the Blendtecs Super-Duper Blender. I’ve been using my bobo blender twice a day on average, for the past 3 months. I quit coffee and I quit soda and I quit junk food. I started walking and running and lifting weights and now I’m giving bicycling a try. And I’ve lost about 35 pounds.

I don’t look as awesome as I feel, but that’s because I feel pretty dang awesome. And I feel pretty dang awesome because I? Am a lucky girl. Look at this business:

Oh my God, my husband is a hottie.And you know what else? He’s committed to loving me and helping me, even if I look and act like Chris Farley in a dress.

“My beloved is mine and I am his…” Song of Solomon 2:16 KJV

I was designed to be his helper, his partner. I was designed to support him and encourage him and serve him and love him.

Wives, understand and support your husbands in ways that show your support for Christ. The husband provides leadership to his wife the way Christ does to his church, not by domineering but by cherishing. So just as the church submits to Christ as he exercises such leadership, wives should likewise submit to their husbands.” Ephesians 5: 22-24, The Message

And in return, that man–my Caleb–loves me like freaking Jesus loves the Church.

“Husbands, go all out in your love for your wives, exactly as Christ did for the church—a love marked by giving, not getting. Christ’s love makes the church whole. His words evoke her beauty. Everything he does and says is designed to bring the best out of her, dressing her in dazzling white silk, radiant with holiness. And that is how husbands ought to love their wives. They’re really doing themselves a favor—since they’re already “one” in marriage.” Ephesians 5:25-28, The Message

I listen to a lot of radio broadcasts on Christian networks, and I happened to catch a man called Tony Evans talking about how husbands should satisfy their wives. “Awesome,” I thought, and I cranked up the volume. Here’s a butchered version of a story he told:

A man had 2 daughters: 1 young and voluptious, beautiful, desirable. The other was older and kind of haggard and would clearly not be any man’s first choice. In that day, if you wanted to marry a pretty lady, you had to show up with some serious livestock. One day, a rich man from another town came with a herd of ten cows. The father with 2 daughters was all like, “Get ready, hot daughter. Someone is coming to marry you!” But instead of choosing the younger, more beautiful daughter, the man chose the older daughter, saying “She is worth 10 cows to me.” The father said, “Okay, whatevs!” and married off his older daughter to the rich man. Several months later he visited this daughter and her new husband, and the change in her was phenomenal–she was gorgeous and glowing and did not even resemble the fugly old woman she used to be. Her husband was treating her like a 10-cow kind of girl, so she started dressing, acting, and feeling the part.

So touching. So true. What tremendous power a woman’s husband has over her in this way! Instead of racing home to tell Caleb all the stuff he needed to start doing for me, I boo-hooed right there in the car, so grateful that my God-given partner was already a man that puts his needs and desires aside on a daily basis to give me this kind of love, respect and encouragement.

When I was a raging alcoholic, he made it his mission to help dry me out. When I was an aspiring painter, he bought me supplies and gave me time alone with a canvas. When I was wore slap out from taking care of babies, Caleb changed the diapers and wiped the boogers and did the laundry and cooked the dinner.

When I was depressed and unhappy with my body, when I was tired and drained and crying and pinching my fat rolls in the bathroom, and not smiling because I thought it made my face look chubby, Caleb stepped in and said “Let’s do this together.”

He chugged health shakes. He took horse vitamins. He got up at the butt-crack of dawn every morning and ran three miles with me, waiting for me, staying with me, pushing me–sometimes literally. He shouted encouraging words. He spotted me while I struggled with light weights. He counted my sit-ups. He shushed my self-defeating talk. He celebrated my tiny victories.

Even though he had not an ounce of fat on his body that he needed to lose; even though he still looks as gorgeous as the day I met him; He did these things. If we are partners–and we are–then he takes seriously the mantra of never leaving your partner behind.

He’s not perfect by any means, and neither am I. But where I am weak, Caleb is strong. When he’s sad, I cheer him up. When I’m stressed, he is calming. When his world is going crazy, well…I try to be the least crazy version of myself.

Couples all around me, even my own parents, make marriage look so effortless, but I assure you: it’s one of the hardest things ever. I know for a fact that Caleb and I would be divorced today if it weren’t for God stepping in and taking charge of a situation that was out of control. Through His guiding Spirit, His words in the bible, and through the encouragement of Christian friends around us, we are still married.

And I’m happier than I’ve ever, ever been.

Not because I lost weight. Not because I get to stay home and teach art classes and paint until my heart’s content. Not because I get the occasional break from chores or because I have a nice house and I sometimes get to buy new shoes for no reason.

But because my husband values me as, and treats me like, a 10-Cow Woman. And I? Am beyond motivated to be that woman.

The Blendtecs Super-Duper Blender can’t hurt my cause, either. Goal weight: meet husband. Husband, meet goal weight. Blendtecs now–you’ll thank yourself later.

About Toni

Mom. Wife. Artist. I take care of the kids and pretend to clean sometimes. I can cook spagetti and I have never been arrested. View all posts by Toni

3 responses to “Never Leave Your Ten-Cow Woman Behind.

  • Anonymous

    That’s so beautiful! I’m crying now!

  • Anne

    Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think. Ephesians 3:20 NIV

    NOTE: this… YES!!! this… is what every mom should teach their daughter to seek and every man should teach their son to be… YES!!!!

    {side note: Just so you know… I have some intensely, sickly green, fleshly jealously going on right now.}

You must be logged in to post a comment.

